Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is the salad recipe that I am most often asked to bring to potlucks. We prefer it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by klancelle
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Very Yummy and very authentic! I was born and raised in Germany. You can order something like this in many resaturants in Bavaria. I used only half the bacon drippings, 1 teaspoon of salt and upped the onions to 1 cup. Also added a handful of chopped italian parsley for color. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klancelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe is fantastic! I usually have to double the batch because it disappears so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Finally! A classic german potato salad recipe. It is the celery seed that gives this salad its authentic flair
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is an amazing recipe...everyone in my family loves it. The only thing is that I make a lot more sauce so that the salad is moist and not dry. Instead of celery seed I use whole mustard seed. And, I never add flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
We make this recipe often and it's always a hit! It has a great zip to it with the apple cider vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirelle James Edghill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Very good receipe that I've used over and over. Easy to make and delicous to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyc08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was my first try at a German Potato Salad. i was always a egg potato salad maker. To me it came out fair, but the MRS said it was too sweet. i did manipulate the recipe by adding 2 TBS of flour to thicken the sauce. The 5YO also ate a fair portion and gave it 4 1/2 stars. I think i will give it another try and cut down the sugar. also the 30 min cooking time for the potatoes was a bit long. i would think 20 min would work as my potatoes came out on the mushy side and hard to slice. I WILL be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Used cider vinegar rather than white to give it a bit more flavour but did everything else as per original recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Very good recipe! I made this on a camping trip to go along with some beer brats. Everyone raved about it. Even my 9-year-old grandson had 2 helpings! I used red potatoes. I needed to add a little more water than called for, but that was probably because it had to sit for a while and thickened up a bit. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States