Hot German Potato Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Excellent! I didn't have celery seed, so I used celery salt (and cut back on the other salt), and it was great. My husband said it rivaled the Hot German Potato Salad at our favorite local German Restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I altered the recipe slightly in order to cook it in a Crock pot, but my family really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Holy Hanna did this hit the spot! Just the right sweet & sour mix. The only thing I did different was I baked the potatoes, then peeled and sliced them - once they were cool enough to handle. Once you've had baked potato salad you realize how much flavor is lost by boiling. Other than that small change it was perfect. For those that prefer a moister salad (think consistency of the super market) by all means you will need to double up on the "dressing" portion...as for myself and family we liked it as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GeneralTso77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Made this by following the recipe exactly, except I ended up adding extra bacon for good measure, and used only 7 out of the 9 potatoes I cooked. I was afraid it wouldn't be saucy enough. It really just depends on the size of the potatoes, but Germans like it saucy. I'm not german, but live in Germany and my friend whose family is from Austria said it tasted just like the potato salad they always make. Except they serve it cold and without the bacon, but I know Germans do it this way (hot and with bacon). I did try it cold but preferred it hot. I wanted to use apple cider vinegar instead of white, but decided to stick to the recipe exactly. Next time I will try the cider vinegar to make it a little milder, but only because I'm not a fan of vinegar in the first place, unlike Germans. Point is, this recipe is authentic, I made it successfully, and I've never even made any kind of potato salad before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usafwife16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Just like Grandma's!!! I recommend substituting apple cider vinegar, though. And I use golden potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is EXACTLY the recipe I use when making German Potato Salad and it never lasts long at parties. Even though it is very unhealthy for you (considering the sauce IS the bacon grease...), it is still so delicious. I was hoping to find a similar recipe to what I use at home, and I am happy to find the exact same ingredients in yours :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Filling, tasty comfort food. I like this, but not everyone I've served it to does. Guess it's just one of those things :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Awesome!! Just made this for our Oktoberfest party last night. Everyone loved it and so did I! Made it just as the recipe says and used red potatoes. Solid authentic tasting German Potato Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This recipe was really good. It gets much better after standing for a few hours. The sauce was a little thicker than I expected so I thinned it a smidge with water. I think I will add a little less flour and a little less vinegar next time as the sour part slightly overwhelmed the sweet. More bacon crumbles too as these really add the salty kick to perk up the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bolton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is the salad recipe that I am most often asked to bring to potlucks. We prefer it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 667) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States