Hot German Potato Salad Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe, it will become one of our new household favorites. I just wish it was a little less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...We loved it! I did boil the potatoes whole before peeling/cubing b/c I don't like how they get when I do it the other way. I wasn't sure what to saute the onions and celery in, so I used some of the bacon grease and that added great flavor. I also reduced the salt a bit, but that was a personal preference. This came together very easily, and, in fact, I made it earlier in the day and just refrigerated it until I was ready to bake it. This was a nice twist on the usual German potato salad, and one that I will be making again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 13, October 2012 ~ This is a different type of German Potato Salad than what I grew up on. That being said, different is good. I think I would have preferred to boil the potatoes first, and then cube them. They got a little mushy by cubing then boiling. The sauce mixture was a nice amount for 4 cups of potatoes. I used white cheddar cheese because that is what I had on hand. I think this will be a recipe that the leftovers will be even better than the first time around. My DH wishes I would have sautéed the celery and onions a little longer as he didn't appreciate the crunch in the dish. We both liked this dish and I would make it again. Thanks LizgraEva for sharing your version of Hot German Potato Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Recipe Group. I scaled back to 1/2 recipe and made this for my lunch. I sauteed the onions & celery in some of the bacon grease as suggested by Christina, and I use Miracle Whip instead of mayo (less calories & fat), and only 1/4t salt. This was very easy to put together, and store in the fridge until I was ready to cook. This was a delicious change of pace from the usual sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Made for Recipe Group 10/13/12. I would suggest cooking the celery mixture a little longer on low. I did not like the little crunch while eating the finished product. It made for a lot of dirty dishes. This did have alot of flavor because of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group and followed directions exactly as written. We all ate a small portion of this, no one wanted seconds. The leftovers also did not re heat well the next day. Thanks for posting something new for us to try; but don't think we will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 10/14/12. I used red potatoes, which I boiled and cubed with the skin on. I sauteed my onion and celery in the bacon drippings for added flavor and followed the rest of the recipe as written. I am unsure what the problem is because I like German Potato Salad and I like all the ingredients, but it just didn't work for us. I think we would have liked it better without the mayo, hot or without the cheese, cold. It was interesting to try though, thanks Lizgra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I halved the recipe but ended up using the full amt of the mayo mixture & mine was still on the dry side, not sure why. I did leave out the celery-not a fan. That being said, it was pretty good. I doubt I'll make it again but it was great to try once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States