Hot German Potato Salad Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I loved this recipe, it will become one of our new household favorites. I just wish it was a little less greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I halved the recipe but ended up using the full amt of the mayo mixture & mine was still on the dry side, not sure why. I did leave out the celery-not a fan. That being said, it was pretty good. I doubt I'll make it again but it was great to try once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Clover
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Recipe Group. I scaled back to 1/2 recipe and made this for my lunch. I sauteed the onions & celery in some of the bacon grease as suggested by Christina, and I use Miracle Whip instead of mayo (less calories & fat), and only 1/4t salt. This was very easy to put together, and store in the fridge until I was ready to cook. This was a delicious change of pace from the usual sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Recipe Group selection of 10/14/12. I used red potatoes, which I boiled and cubed with the skin on. I sauteed my onion and celery in the bacon drippings for added flavor and followed the rest of the recipe as written. I am unsure what the problem is because I like German Potato Salad and I like all the ingredients, but it just didn't work for us. I think we would have liked it better without the mayo, hot or without the cheese, cold. It was interesting to try though, thanks Lizgra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Made for Recipe Group 10/13/12. I would suggest cooking the celery mixture a little longer on low. I did not like the little crunch while eating the finished product. It made for a lot of dirty dishes. This did have alot of flavor because of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group and followed directions exactly as written. We all ate a small portion of this, no one wanted seconds. The leftovers also did not re heat well the next day. Thanks for posting something new for us to try; but don't think we will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Made this for Recipe Group...We loved it! I did boil the potatoes whole before peeling/cubing b/c I don't like how they get when I do it the other way. I wasn't sure what to saute the onions and celery in, so I used some of the bacon grease and that added great flavor. I also reduced the salt a bit, but that was a personal preference. This came together very easily, and, in fact, I made it earlier in the day and just refrigerated it until I was ready to bake it. This was a nice twist on the usual German potato salad, and one that I will be making again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 13, October 2012 ~ This is a different type of German Potato Salad than what I grew up on. That being said, different is good. I think I would have preferred to boil the potatoes first, and then cube them. They got a little mushy by cubing then boiling. The sauce mixture was a nice amount for 4 cups of potatoes. I used white cheddar cheese because that is what I had on hand. I think this will be a recipe that the leftovers will be even better than the first time around. My DH wishes I would have sautéed the celery and onions a little longer as he didn't appreciate the crunch in the dish. We both liked this dish and I would make it again. Thanks LizgraEva for sharing your version of Hot German Potato Salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Red Skinned Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad with bacon and a perfectly firm texture.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States