Hot Fudge Sundae Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Good base recipe, the sauce is lacking a lot of flavor, will try again with some adjustments instead of adding all water, going to try 1/2 water 1/2 milk (maybe some coffee too)and some vanilla and cinnamon on top. I baked in an 8x8 and it didn't overflow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made these with dark chocolate cocoa powder & omitted the walnuts. I baked these as cupcakes & ate with a spoon, They came out perfectly! I will have to use thicker cupcake holders though. Delicious! I love how the fudge goes to the bottom & the brownie cooks a layer over the top, interesting & yummy. The original recipe fits 12 cupcakes exactly. I call these Lava Brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
We loved it! I used unsweetened coconut milk instead of regular milk since we have issues with dairy. I also eliminated the nuts because of allergies. It's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Have made this for years, but called it Fudge Pudding Cake. Regardless of what you call it, it must be called delicious. The only thing I do differently is add a tsp of espresso powder to the batter. It really brings out the chocolate flavor. If you can find it, dark cocoa really adds an extra special kick for those who like dark chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe is great - however, I leave out the walnuts and call it "Upside Down Cake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: South Casco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I would have liked a little more chocolate flavor but my parents loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
The name is a little deceiving, I think it's more a like a Brownie Pudding Cake. It did taste great, I thought it might be super-sweet but it was enjoyable. We served it with vanilla ice cream and I will make it again. The 9X9 pan I used had to soak overnight, but today it was a simple clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cork1035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Terrible consistency. Made as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
8 x 8 pan will overflow a bit. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States