Hot Fudge Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
This tastes just like the hot fudge sauce I loved as a kid, but it wasn't as thick. To thicken it up, cut way back on the evaporated milk...I used two-thirds of a cup for half of this recipe and it became much thicker. You can even go with less if you like it the consistency of real fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I thought this was good, not the best I've had. (I thought it tasted a bit too much like the semi-sweet chips that are used to make it.) My husaband thought it tasted like "really good hot fudge" which is a huge compliment coming from him, he's a chocolate lover, so he knows. I just don't know what it needed, maybe a dash more salt?? oh, and I used a little less than 1/2 the called for evaporated milk, I made a full batch, and about 1 cup of milk was PLENTY, it would have been too thin if I would have used more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fennville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
Great chocolate taste, although I did substitute the semisweet chips with Ghiradelli double chocolate chips which gave it a deep chocolate flavor. I also cut back the milt to 2 cups for a full batch, and next time I may even do less...I like hot fudge pretty thick, although the 2 cups did not make it really thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinn7679

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beverly, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
This was very good AND easy to make. I also halved the recipe and only used 2/3 of a cup of evap. milk. Be careful that you bring the sauce to a boil over a med-low heat...it is very easy to burn the chocolate and it gives it a burnt flavour that is NOT good. It takes a long time to get it to boil at this temp, but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
Absolutely divine! I halved the recipe, then cut the milk down to a little less than a cup to make it a little more "fudgy" than runny. We drizzled it over ice cream cake, but my husband kept sneaking spoonfuls to eat by itself. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spiceisnice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Ok so I took this recipe as a starting point. I fourthed it. used 2Tb semi sweet and 6Tb Milk chocolate chips to equal 1/2 cup. 1/4C marg. 1C conf Sugar. 1/3C milk 1/8ts vanilla and a pinch of salt First off it is a good fudge but i cooked it a little too long at 5 min. next time I'll go only 31/2 min I used what I had on hand available (broke man used substitutions)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This is the best fudge sauce. It is definitely delicious, perfect consistency, heaven on ice cream. I think I added a little less evaporated milk. I made half of the suggested recipe and only put in a cup of evaporated milk. So delicious! Easy to make. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Chocolate is chocolate, right? Hence the 3 stars. But like another reviewer stated, this tasted more like eating melted semi sweet chocolate chips. I think I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
Great taste, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
This made a very good chocolate sauce, but I didn't think it tasted very "fudgy" and the texture is a bit off. It's a good alternative to store-bought sauce, but I might try some of the other recipes on this site looking for the perfect sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States