Hot Fudge Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I made this the first time using exactly what the recipe called for and it was incredible but the 83 grams of fat (in the entire recipe) bothered me. I tried it again and used fat free half and half and it was again, incredible. I honestly could not even tell it was made without the cream. (I used about 3/4 cup of half and half instead of the full cup since it is thinner than cream.) My hubby said it was better than anything you can buy from the store. The fat is incredibly low with only that from the butter. Try it with the FF half and half--you might be surprised! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uruma, Okinawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Satiny, shiny, chocolate-y, smooth, rich and delicious...but could be thicker. Next time I'll either cook and stir till good and thick, or add less cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This is the best fudge sauce I've ever tasted; husband and sons agree with me!! I didn't have any unsweetened chocolate squares on hand so I mixed 12 tablespoons of premium unsweetened cocoa powder with four tablespoons of canola oil and then prepared the rest of the recipe as written. Outstanding!! Never again will there be store-bought chocolate sauce in this house. I can't wait to try this with ice cream cakes and as a topping for brownies. My search for a truly delicious, rich chocolate sauce is now over. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
The flavor is very chocolatey. I think it would appeal to all chocoholics out there. My only concern with this sauce is that it turned a consistency much like tub margarine. A bit on the firmer side. Which means that each time you want to use it you will definately have to reheat it. Guess I was looking for a consistency more like chocolate syrup.But the flavor is incredibly chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Delicious!! I will never buy jarred again. The recipe is really easy. I subbed the cream for evaporated milk and, per previous reviews, used much less liquid (probably about 4 ounces total) because I like it really thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
THis is the best hot fudge sauce. I used semi sweet chocolate chips (no unsweetened chocolate in the house) and BROWN sugar (out of white sugar- but as you can tell, I was desperate!) and I also used SKIM milk instead of the cream (trying to make up for the fact that I am going to just EAT the entire batch). I stirred in 1 T flour to make up for the difference in cream and Skim milk. It was SOOOO GOOD! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pookie4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
Very easy to make with stuff i had on hand. I used two dark chocolate bars, the semi sweet kind. I also subed lite coconut milk for the heavy cream and it tastes scrumptious!!! I only used 1/3 of the sugar called for because my chocolate was already sweet. Also I added less "milk" then called for in the recipe because i wanted a thick dark fudge sauce. This was perfect for me and is just the right consistency now that it is in the fridge. THANKS!!! Try this one and wow some friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Absolutely perfect. Mine thickened up nicely. I followed the directions exact EXCEPT using semi-sweet chocolate because that was all I had. We used this fudge sauce to make homemade peanut buster parfaits. What a fun way to end a Friday night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Although I modified the recipe by using bittersweet chocolate chips, brown sugar, and half & half, it made a smooth, chocolatey, just-thick-enough sauce--perfect for our vanilla bean ice cream. Thanks for sharing your Mom's recipe, Erin, and I'd be interested in your recipe for "Eskimo Pie Delight"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Made this for an ice cream social and kept in warm in my crockpot on low. Everyone loved it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States