Hot Fudge Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I went looking to see if this recipe was included here. I grew up on this fudge sauce and, as a renowned chocoholic, I'm here to tell you this is the best there is! Patience is required, as in all good cooking, in order to get it smooth but it is worth it! My grandmother would have to hide it from me when I was little so I wouldn't just eat it all right from the pan. I just wish I knew how to hide it from myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
My daughter is getting married this June and wanted an ice-cream bar instead of cake. I made enough sauce for 200 guests and also made 200 small jars of this decadent sauce for host gifts. I changed the evaporated milk by adding caramel flavored creamer, vanilla, 1/2 & 1/2, and some water. The consistency is smooth and velvety. Such chocolate bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have loved this recipe since the 1950's when it was presented on the back of the Carnation Evaporated milk can as 1-2-3 Fudge Sauce using powdered cocoa not bakers chocolate. Most of the time it comes out very professional and creamy. Tonight I made it without the butter and w/chocolate squares and it did come out grainy. Two weeks ago I made it using cocoa powder (no butter,again) and it came out perfectly. I didn't like the way chocolate squares melted and curdled,and for the first time my sauce came out grainy. I think using 1/2 butter is sufficient and 1 cup of butter is over-kill. I don't use butter at all.Weather also affects the way candies and sauces turn out, this week has been rainy..I'm in the Seattle area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this a bit differently. Used 3 squares of chocolate, 3 Tbsp butter, 2 c. sugar and 1 can evap. milk. It would always turn out grainy like the chocolate would not mix with the milk correctly, until tonight when I figured out the secret! I poured it into my blender and processed it until smooth, and it was perfect! Yum, homemade hot fudge sauce is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This recipe is great because it's easy and doesn't involve a lot of ingredients! Due to what I had on hand, I made these changes: I used semi-sweet chocolate squares, reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cup, and only added half the can of evaporated milk to keep it from being too runny. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla at the end. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great as a topping for "Chantal's New York Cheesecake" on this website. This recipe was extremely easy, uses common ingredients and tasted great! I don't have a double boiler, so I used a Pyrex tempered glass bowl over a regular pot on my stove to make my own double boiler. I put about 1 1/2 inches of water in the pot and made sure it wasn't touching the bottom of my bowl - worked great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was great. I will be making and putting in jars for christmas gifts. I melted the chocolate in the microwave and then added the butter and continued the rest over a low heat on the stove and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is wonderful......I only added 2 1/2 cups of sugar just because we like a little less sweet. And I did not have chocolate squares....just cocoa powder. 3 Tablespoons of powder in place of each square and a little extra butter. It was absolutely wonderful. It wasn't grainy at all....previous reviewer must not have cooked long enough. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I made this tonight and it turned out great! I did make a couple of changes. Ionly used 1 & 1/2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup of corn syrup and 8 oz of evaporated milk. I didn't have any on hand so I made a substitution of 2/3 cup of skim milk pdr and 3/4 cup of water, to make 1 cup of liquid. It worked great, the sauce is not too sweet and it's smooth and shiny. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe, it just takes patience and it doesn't tell you to take it slow! For best results, All sugar has to be completely melted. I left out the last 1/2 cup of sugar and it was still more than sweet enough for us. It was plenty thick. I think those complaints about "thin" or "grainy" were simply because of rushing the cooking process. Wonderful reheated as well. Smooth and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States