Hot Fudge Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I made this a bit differently. Used 3 squares of chocolate, 3 Tbsp butter, 2 c. sugar and 1 can evap. milk. It would always turn out grainy like the chocolate would not mix with the milk correctly, until tonight when I figured out the secret! I poured it into my blender and processed it until smooth, and it was perfect! Yum, homemade hot fudge sauce is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have loved this recipe since the 1950's when it was presented on the back of the Carnation Evaporated milk can as 1-2-3 Fudge Sauce using powdered cocoa not bakers chocolate. Most of the time it comes out very professional and creamy. Tonight I made it without the butter and w/chocolate squares and it did come out grainy. Two weeks ago I made it using cocoa powder (no butter,again) and it came out perfectly. I didn't like the way chocolate squares melted and curdled,and for the first time my sauce came out grainy. I think using 1/2 butter is sufficient and 1 cup of butter is over-kill. I don't use butter at all.Weather also affects the way candies and sauces turn out, this week has been rainy..I'm in the Seattle area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
My daughter is getting married this June and wanted an ice-cream bar instead of cake. I made enough sauce for 200 guests and also made 200 small jars of this decadent sauce for host gifts. I changed the evaporated milk by adding caramel flavored creamer, vanilla, 1/2 & 1/2, and some water. The consistency is smooth and velvety. Such chocolate bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
I went looking to see if this recipe was included here. I grew up on this fudge sauce and, as a renowned chocoholic, I'm here to tell you this is the best there is! Patience is required, as in all good cooking, in order to get it smooth but it is worth it! My grandmother would have to hide it from me when I was little so I wouldn't just eat it all right from the pan. I just wish I knew how to hide it from myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
Okay when prepared as stated. I made some changes to make it great, reduce sugar to 2c, add 3/4 c cocoa, substituted 1/2c milk and 1/2c cream for evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Too sweet and too thin. I only added TWO cups of sugar and we couldn't handle it. What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
Oh so yummy! I made this one because I only had evaporated milk on hand, and I am SOOOOO glad I did. Mine did not come out grainy at all. Very smooth. Granted when it is warm it is not as thick as most hot fudge sauces, but I think it tastes better than any I've had! My husband loved it on his ice-cream so much that I will make this instead of buying the store bought stuff. For kicks I also mixed it with some hot milk and made a wonderful hot chocolate! Thanks for sharing Cathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
I didn't care too much for this sauce. When it cooled it got grainy and wasn't thick enough for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States