Hot Fudge Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I ruined all of my chocolate!!! it tastes very buttery... the flavor is not nice at all... I think this recipe could be ok if you reduce the amount of butter..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Andere

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Do not rush this! That is the secret. My mother and grandmother shared the same recipe, and my grandmother's always turned out smooth and creamy, not grainy. The difference is that my mother cooked her sauce until it was thickened, but my grandmother kept hers on the heat about 20 minutes after it thickened, stirring every 5 minutes or so. Cooking longer not only improves the texture, it takes some of the sweetness out. I agree that two cups of sugar is plenty, but then I don't care for the sickening sweetness of store toppings made with corn syrup. If you like your ice cream to taste sweeter than the sauce, use 2 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I did not care for this Hot Fudge Sauce recipe. It became fudge before it became sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This recipe is so easy and delicious! I used about half of the sugar and it still tasted great! The kids and hubby love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is a great recipe, it just takes patience and it doesn't tell you to take it slow! For best results, All sugar has to be completely melted. I left out the last 1/2 cup of sugar and it was still more than sweet enough for us. It was plenty thick. I think those complaints about "thin" or "grainy" were simply because of rushing the cooking process. Wonderful reheated as well. Smooth and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I made this tonight and it turned out great! I did make a couple of changes. Ionly used 1 & 1/2 cups of sugar, 1/2 cup of corn syrup and 8 oz of evaporated milk. I didn't have any on hand so I made a substitution of 2/3 cup of skim milk pdr and 3/4 cup of water, to make 1 cup of liquid. It worked great, the sauce is not too sweet and it's smooth and shiny. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is wonderful......I only added 2 1/2 cups of sugar just because we like a little less sweet. And I did not have chocolate squares....just cocoa powder. 3 Tablespoons of powder in place of each square and a little extra butter. It was absolutely wonderful. It wasn't grainy at all....previous reviewer must not have cooked long enough. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was great. I will be making and putting in jars for christmas gifts. I melted the chocolate in the microwave and then added the butter and continued the rest over a low heat on the stove and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Great as a topping for "Chantal's New York Cheesecake" on this website. This recipe was extremely easy, uses common ingredients and tasted great! I don't have a double boiler, so I used a Pyrex tempered glass bowl over a regular pot on my stove to make my own double boiler. I put about 1 1/2 inches of water in the pot and made sure it wasn't touching the bottom of my bowl - worked great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This recipe is great because it's easy and doesn't involve a lot of ingredients! Due to what I had on hand, I made these changes: I used semi-sweet chocolate squares, reduced the sugar to 1 1/4 cup, and only added half the can of evaporated milk to keep it from being too runny. I also added a teaspoon of vanilla at the end. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Two Tone Fudge

See how to make tasty fudge with swirls of white chips and bittersweet chocolate.

Chocolate Fudge Pops

Cool it down! Turn three simple ingredients into easy frozen fudge pops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States