Hot Fudge Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This recipe is great. But, we always make sure we eat it right after it comes out of the oven. It isn't as good the next day. But, we usually don't have any left. Ooeeyyyyy Gooery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This looks incredible when it’s taken from the oven. The dessert is all “chocolately” with the fudge sauce bubbling enticingly through the cake layer. I admit I’m a chocoholic and couldn’t wait to dig in. I made a mistake when I made the cake base using ¼ cup of cocoa instead of the two tablespoons. It must have been a Freudian slip. I also added ½ teaspoon of vanilla to the cake base and boiled the water before pouring it on the cake. I’ve made several pudding cakes but I like this one the best. There is plenty of chocolate sauce and it has great chocolate flavor. This was a last minute thought to make for dessert and had I planned to make this earlier I would have saved leftover coffee to add to the liquid to enhance the chocolate flavor. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream for a perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This recipe is delicious, as well as quick and fun to make! I appreciate the way THIS recipe was written, with measurements given in step order, and accuratet to that step. When 2 T of cocoa powder is listed when it is actually used, and the 1/4 C of cocoa powder is listed later when it is used, errors are avoided. Beginning cooks make mistakes when TOTAL ingredient amounts are listed in the ingredients section. Experienced, 40 year bakers like I am appreciate breaking them down to make baking faster. ALL recipes should be written to facilitate the baker/cook's "mise en place" time! Unfortunately, americastestkitchentv.com uses the total ingredients method. I do so detest errors when I cook, and any site that saves me from the wasted time of figuring out a fix to a recipe that was badly written, or saves me the time I would waste in rewriting a recipe properly is my friend! Hot Fudge Pudding Cake II is one of those poorly written recipes. I rarely make baking errors anymore and they really annoy me when I do!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This recipe was in the 1952 edition of the Betty Crocker Cookbook. I have made it for over sixty years. It is a family favorite. I use pecans instead of walnuts, and I usually add a teaspoon of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made this the other night, it was soo delicious Im making it again for my mum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Wow --- you need to try this! SOOOOO Good. No changes need to be done to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
We like to eat this cake cold(like u would eat pudding)I have almost the same recipie fom Good Houskeeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Oh my word! Excellent! I did double it since I knew we'd want leftovers so I baked it about 10 min longer. Also subbed boiling leftover coffee for the water as I have done in the past for similar recipes. A new favorite!! And it was just as good the next day, zapped in microwave with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is a very old recipe, it was originally named: Hershey's Hot Fudge Pudding Cake, made without the nuts. I have made it for years and it never fails to please, especially the men. I prefer it hot, about 20 minutes out of the oven. It is a great company dessert, bakes while you are dining. I usually serve it with vanilla ice cream. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Well, it was very good but we don't do the Walnut step, Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States