Hot Fudge Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This recipe is great. But, we always make sure we eat it right after it comes out of the oven. It isn't as good the next day. But, we usually don't have any left. Ooeeyyyyy Gooery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Blevens McKee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this cake for my grand young 'uns and they loved it. I liked it too, but it was too "tame" for my wild & overactive taste buds. I'm an old-fashioned, country cookin', 67 yr old grandma who loves highly seasoned food. I tried this recipe because it is so similar to mine. In my recipe, I add 1 teaspoon vanilla to the batter; 2 teaspoons cornstarch and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to the dry cocoa/brown sugar; equal parts hot water and hot milk. The cake is more flavorful and the sauce is creamier. (I use brown sugar in ALL chocolate batter.) Sometimes I would add a bit of flavor to the hot milk/water and lightly dust the top of the baked cake with powdered sugar. I've also made this cake by combining all the dry ingredients for the sauce/pudding, add the hot milk/hot water, mix well, pour over the batter. It worked for me! Deeeeelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Was excited to try this but not that impressed. Not enough chocolate flavor and too sweet. Prefer chocolate lava cakes -- richer flavor and not any more trouble, just as easy to prepare and makes for a much prettier presentation for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is a very old recipe, it was originally named: Hershey's Hot Fudge Pudding Cake, made without the nuts. I have made it for years and it never fails to please, especially the men. I prefer it hot, about 20 minutes out of the oven. It is a great company dessert, bakes while you are dining. I usually serve it with vanilla ice cream. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This looks incredible when it’s taken from the oven. The dessert is all “chocolately” with the fudge sauce bubbling enticingly through the cake layer. I admit I’m a chocoholic and couldn’t wait to dig in. I made a mistake when I made the cake base using ¼ cup of cocoa instead of the two tablespoons. It must have been a Freudian slip. I also added ½ teaspoon of vanilla to the cake base and boiled the water before pouring it on the cake. I’ve made several pudding cakes but I like this one the best. There is plenty of chocolate sauce and it has great chocolate flavor. This was a last minute thought to make for dessert and had I planned to make this earlier I would have saved leftover coffee to add to the liquid to enhance the chocolate flavor. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream for a perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this recipe as stated. It had plenty of pudding and chocolate flavor. Will make this one of my favorites. I did have left overs and they are good the next day. Just pop the serving into the microwave to heat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
We like to eat this cake cold(like u would eat pudding)I have almost the same recipie fom Good Houskeeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
This was amazing considering what goes in it. So glad I ran across this so easy with limited ingredients and its sooooo good. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Oh my word! Excellent! I did double it since I knew we'd want leftovers so I baked it about 10 min longer. Also subbed boiling leftover coffee for the water as I have done in the past for similar recipes. A new favorite!! And it was just as good the next day, zapped in microwave with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This recipe is delicious, as well as quick and fun to make! I appreciate the way THIS recipe was written, with measurements given in step order, and accuratet to that step. When 2 T of cocoa powder is listed when it is actually used, and the 1/4 C of cocoa powder is listed later when it is used, errors are avoided. Beginning cooks make mistakes when TOTAL ingredient amounts are listed in the ingredients section. Experienced, 40 year bakers like I am appreciate breaking them down to make baking faster. ALL recipes should be written to facilitate the baker/cook's "mise en place" time! Unfortunately, americastestkitchentv.com uses the total ingredients method. I do so detest errors when I cook, and any site that saves me from the wasted time of figuring out a fix to a recipe that was badly written, or saves me the time I would waste in rewriting a recipe properly is my friend! Hot Fudge Pudding Cake II is one of those poorly written recipes. I rarely make baking errors anymore and they really annoy me when I do!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States