Hot Fudge Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this recipe as stated. It had plenty of pudding and chocolate flavor. Will make this one of my favorites. I did have left overs and they are good the next day. Just pop the serving into the microwave to heat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
With a couple of variations this recipe goes from 4 star to 5 stars in my recipe book. I use brown sugar throughout the recipe. It gives a complexity of flavor that is sorely lacking otherwise. I also add an extra teaspoon to cocoa to the batter and the pudding. Adding a teaspoon of cinnamon also subtly enhances the flavor. Then it's definitely a 5 star recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Was excited to try this but not that impressed. Not enough chocolate flavor and too sweet. Prefer chocolate lava cakes -- richer flavor and not any more trouble, just as easy to prepare and makes for a much prettier presentation for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Wow --- you need to try this! SOOOOO Good. No changes need to be done to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made this the other night, it was soo delicious Im making it again for my mum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is a very old recipe, it was originally named: Hershey's Hot Fudge Pudding Cake, made without the nuts. I have made it for years and it never fails to please, especially the men. I prefer it hot, about 20 minutes out of the oven. It is a great company dessert, bakes while you are dining. I usually serve it with vanilla ice cream. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this cake for my grand young 'uns and they loved it. I liked it too, but it was too "tame" for my wild & overactive taste buds. I'm an old-fashioned, country cookin', 67 yr old grandma who loves highly seasoned food. I tried this recipe because it is so similar to mine. In my recipe, I add 1 teaspoon vanilla to the batter; 2 teaspoons cornstarch and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to the dry cocoa/brown sugar; equal parts hot water and hot milk. The cake is more flavorful and the sauce is creamier. (I use brown sugar in ALL chocolate batter.) Sometimes I would add a bit of flavor to the hot milk/water and lightly dust the top of the baked cake with powdered sugar. I've also made this cake by combining all the dry ingredients for the sauce/pudding, add the hot milk/hot water, mix well, pour over the batter. It worked for me! Deeeeelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
We like to eat this cake cold(like u would eat pudding)I have almost the same recipie fom Good Houskeeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This looks incredible when it’s taken from the oven. The dessert is all “chocolately” with the fudge sauce bubbling enticingly through the cake layer. I admit I’m a chocoholic and couldn’t wait to dig in. I made a mistake when I made the cake base using ¼ cup of cocoa instead of the two tablespoons. It must have been a Freudian slip. I also added ½ teaspoon of vanilla to the cake base and boiled the water before pouring it on the cake. I’ve made several pudding cakes but I like this one the best. There is plenty of chocolate sauce and it has great chocolate flavor. This was a last minute thought to make for dessert and had I planned to make this earlier I would have saved leftover coffee to add to the liquid to enhance the chocolate flavor. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream for a perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very easy, very quick, very good. Wonderful quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States