Hot Fudge Pudding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Made this recipe as stated. It had plenty of pudding and chocolate flavor. Will make this one of my favorites. I did have left overs and they are good the next day. Just pop the serving into the microwave to heat. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
With a couple of variations this recipe goes from 4 star to 5 stars in my recipe book. I use brown sugar throughout the recipe. It gives a complexity of flavor that is sorely lacking otherwise. I also add an extra teaspoon to cocoa to the batter and the pudding. Adding a teaspoon of cinnamon also subtly enhances the flavor. Then it's definitely a 5 star recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Was excited to try this but not that impressed. Not enough chocolate flavor and too sweet. Prefer chocolate lava cakes -- richer flavor and not any more trouble, just as easy to prepare and makes for a much prettier presentation for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Wow --- you need to try this! SOOOOO Good. No changes need to be done to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
I made this the other night, it was soo delicious Im making it again for my mum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This is a very old recipe, it was originally named: Hershey's Hot Fudge Pudding Cake, made without the nuts. I have made it for years and it never fails to please, especially the men. I prefer it hot, about 20 minutes out of the oven. It is a great company dessert, bakes while you are dining. I usually serve it with vanilla ice cream. Give it a try, you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
I made this cake for my grand young 'uns and they loved it. I liked it too, but it was too "tame" for my wild & overactive taste buds. I'm an old-fashioned, country cookin', 67 yr old grandma who loves highly seasoned food. I tried this recipe because it is so similar to mine. In my recipe, I add 1 teaspoon vanilla to the batter; 2 teaspoons cornstarch and 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon to the dry cocoa/brown sugar; equal parts hot water and hot milk. The cake is more flavorful and the sauce is creamier. (I use brown sugar in ALL chocolate batter.) Sometimes I would add a bit of flavor to the hot milk/water and lightly dust the top of the baked cake with powdered sugar. I've also made this cake by combining all the dry ingredients for the sauce/pudding, add the hot milk/hot water, mix well, pour over the batter. It worked for me! Deeeeelicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
We like to eat this cake cold(like u would eat pudding)I have almost the same recipie fom Good Houskeeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This looks incredible when it’s taken from the oven. The dessert is all “chocolately” with the fudge sauce bubbling enticingly through the cake layer. I admit I’m a chocoholic and couldn’t wait to dig in. I made a mistake when I made the cake base using ¼ cup of cocoa instead of the two tablespoons. It must have been a Freudian slip. I also added ½ teaspoon of vanilla to the cake base and boiled the water before pouring it on the cake. I’ve made several pudding cakes but I like this one the best. There is plenty of chocolate sauce and it has great chocolate flavor. This was a last minute thought to make for dessert and had I planned to make this earlier I would have saved leftover coffee to add to the liquid to enhance the chocolate flavor. Serve warm with vanilla ice cream for a perfect dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Very easy, very quick, very good. Wonderful quick dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States