Hot Fudge Pudding Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
My Aunt use to make these when I was a kid. It was my favorite and I was so excited to find this recipe. I followed the directions completely the first time and the puddling was a tad runny and just didn't quite taste right. It just seemed like it was sort of pasty. The second time I added 1/4 tsp more salt to 1 2/3 cup of water. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Took Ani's advice and microwaved for 12 minutes. Great for a quick warm chocolate fix, but it looked like a train wreck - good enough for the family but not company. Added vanilla to the cake mix; used equal parts water and coffee to total 1 1/3 cup and I thought the pudding was a little too thick -could be due to over-nuking though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
It's low fat and it tastes low fat- be prepared. I followed others' advice to add vanilla and instant coffee to hot water. Seemed like it had enough flavor, just not the richness I'd like. I served it with some canned whipped cream and that helped a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Great dessert served warm topped with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LashGal
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
mmm! this was sooo easy to make and came out perfect! i followed suggestions and added 1 tsp. of vanilla and reduced the amount of water...but i reduced the water too much (to one cup) and the pudding came out a bit thick, so next time I will probably use 1 1/3 cups. served with vanilla ice cream and it was really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B0nus
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Cooked it by the book except for cup H2O instead of 1.75. I thought it was incredible but dad thought it was missing coffee. I will add vanilla next time, I regret forgetting to add it this time. We (4) finished it w/in 30 min... so maybe a double batch next time. A+ I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B0nus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Not bad, but seems to be missing 'something'. Sauce is just ok. Needs to be more 'chocolately' maybe with semi-sweet chips?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
i found this too be a fairly good version of a favorite family dessert grandma has made for many years, the only thing i founf is i had too reduce the baking time too keep the cake nice and moist and saucey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I love this recipe except that I use less brown sugar to avoid that molasses taste in the pudding. I remember being disappointed by that when my mom would serve it when I was a kid. This last time I substituted 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 white for the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nomadic Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antigo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
The texture was perfect and it smelled great but the flavor was really bland. Like others, I reduced the water to 1 1/3 cups and added vanilla and instant espresso to it. I actually think that a bit of salt in the brown sugar/cocoa mixture would make a huge improvement and bring out the flavor of it a bit. I'm going to try it again with some salt becuase I feel like this recipe has so much potential but it is just missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States