Hot Fudge Pudding Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Wow, I love this recipe. Super-sweet like many others suggested... just how our family likes it. This simple recipe was great for my 10 year old daughter and I to make together. We followed the recipe exactly, except out of necessity, we replaced the all-purpose wheat flour with Robin Hood Gluten Free Nutri Flour and about 1/2 tsp xanthan gum because we are celiacs. With these substitutions the cake turned out amazing. The pudding was a tad thick (I might try a little more boiling water next time) but rich and creamy. The cake was moist with a delicious crisp, sugary edge, and there was plenty of space in the 9x9 pan. I only reduced the stars from 5 to 4 because I thought it could be a bit chocolaty-er. I might add some additional cocoa next time. What I love about this recipe is the potential for slight variations... like adding boiling coffee instead of boiling water. I loved the idea of making a banana split out of it as another reviewer suggested. Also, I can't wait to try it over vanilla ice cream. I can't imagine anything better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
It was ok, I don't think it had enough chocolate flavor. Was kinda bland in that area. Just not the flavor I was expecting. The sauce was still too runny in my opinion even after 45 minutes baking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I've made this since I was a kid, and this recipe is perfection. Didn't reduce sugar, as suggested, and though it was super-sweet, I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This is a quick and easy dessert. Serve with vanilla ice cream. It makes its own hot fudge sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This had a wonderful rich chocolate flavor but somehow mine didn't turn out at all. This was really sweet too, way too sweet for me and I have a huge sweetooth. It seemed like lot of water to pour over, but I did as directed. When I served this up it had a cake layer on the bottom, a huge liquid layer in the middle, I mean really liquid not gelled like pudding or "sauce" as is usual with this type cake, and then the top layer was a really thin crust. Mine was nowhere close to looking set at 45 minutes as the liquid layer was really sloshy and you could see it jiggle under the crust top layer. Easy cake to make and it's one of my favorites, but for some reason I did not have success with this recipe. I sprayed the pan with nonstick spray only because it's habit and it didn't specify whether to do so or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I love this recipe! It's a great backup dessert that doesn't require a bunch of odd ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Easy to make with an excellent chocolate taste that's not overly sweet. In order to make this a dessert similar to a favorite hot fudge sundae of ours, I topped with vanilla ice cream and peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I made this last night, very easy to make, and my husband and daughters family loved it, I did like the other suggestions and only added 1/2 the sugar, and it was perfect, not to sweet, but sweet enough for the chocolate lover. will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
it was okay, not great. I used a 8x 11 dish as I did not have a 9x9. It did not spill. You must let it sit for a few minutes the pudding does thicken up nicely. The cake is quite bland. Will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
YUMMY!! On the advise of some of the posts I cut the sugar by just about half. I am glad I did as I found the dessert sweet enough with half the sugar. Very moist and lots of molten chocolate!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudson, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States