Hot Fudge Ice Cream Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I made a mistake and purchased hot fudge sauce rather than regular chocolate syrup. Though I don't know how it would have turned out using the syrup, the hot fudge sauce was a happy mistake. Very rich and smooth textured. I thinned the mixture a bit with some chocolate syrup because it was quite stiff after mixing with the peanut butter but it still wasn't easy to spread. I think the earlier reviewer's suggestion of putting the chocolate/peanut butter layer onto the ice cream sandwiches first, then the whipped topping would have made my assembly MUCH easier if I'd thought of it! Everyone loved this and it was so simple to make. The possibilities of other combinations of sauce and "sprinkly things" are endless and I am sure I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Quick,easy and Yummy! It looks and tastes like you slaved over this dessert. My ice cream sandwiches must have been the perfect size, because I used 19, just as the recipe called for. I used (Dove) milk chocolate topping and crunchy peanut butter. As suggested by another reviewer, I put the syrup/peanut butter mixture on the ice cream sandwiches first,(plus I drizzled some caramel topping onto that) and then spread the cool whip, it was easier to spread, and no one would be the wiser, because when sliced, it had nice layers. I probably added about 1/2 of a jar of the caramel (for both layers) and will more than likely add more (all) next time. I used chopped pecans in place of the peanuts and dusted the top with cocoa. I wanted to add toffee pieces in place of the nuts, but my stores didn't have them. I will try that though when I find them again. I passed this out to all the neighbors..thumbs up from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Yummy! The fudge/peanut butter part was very good! Used peanut butter cups like others suggested b/c the kids don't like nuts. I halved this recipe and it took 11 ice cream sandwiches per 8x8 inch pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
UNBELIEVABLE! This was so easy and very good. Thank you so much for this. Everyone that has tasted it has thought is it great. I think the secret is the peanut butter in the chocolate sauce. Yum! My only problem was finding a 9X13 dish that was deep enough to hold all the layers. Super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
This was AWESOME! Quick and easy to make!! I used No Frills No Name Ice Cream bars and they were the perfect size. Used NO Frills No Name chocolate syrup. Took previous advice and layered chocolate sauce first then the whipped topping! Big hit at party! Definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
This is a great and easy dessert. I combined caramel and hot fudge together instead of chocolate syrup and peanut butter. It was great for a summertime dessert. Our guests and my whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
I made this for company and served it to 8 kids...they all LOVED it!!! (which is an absolute miracle because my kids are extremely picky) I have already been asked for the recipe twice!! The only thing I will do different next time is put the chocolate sauce on first and then the Cool Whip, as I found that it made a big mushy mess on top when I tried it the other way. 5 stars for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIGUILDERSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This recipe has already become a favorite at our house. It is a wonderful dessert if you are working with little chefs as there is no real heat involved. I don't make any changes, other than maybe to increase the number of ice cream bar used. It may just be the brand I use is smaller. Really, the dessert is much more impressive than it should be since it is so simple, but even the pickiest of critics give it rave reviews at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This was incredible!! I followed the recipe exactly and made it for my Bunko group. Everyone was raving about it and most of them left with a copy of the recipe. Will definitely make this one again. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER750

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Very quick and very good. A hit with both kids and adults. Might experiment with adding caramel? Used chunky peanut butter and also loved the whole peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States