Hot Fudge Ice Cream Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
amazing! Wasn't too excited about thiz one after reading the recipe, bug decided to try it anyway because of review, and boyyyyyyyy am i glad I did! I used a smaller dish, so cut all ingredients jn half. I whipped some fresh whipping cream instead of cool whip, used Hershey chocolate sauce with chunky peanut butter, and topped with chopped reeces cups. My hubby went crazy ovrr this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I made this cake as written last year and felt is was okay but nothing special, thus a 3 star rating. I decided to try it again this summer after reading dozens of ice cream cake recipes - and incorporated some of the other recipes into this basic idea. The new and improved version is a 4.5. I made a home made chocolate peanut butter fudge sauce, used lots of chopped up salted dry roasted nuts (sprinkling them generously over the chocolate fudge layer) and made sure to use a deep pan to accommodate the layers adequately. I also put a thin layer of the chocolate fudge sauce on the bottom of the pan before starting the first layer of ice cream sandwiches. These changes improved the cake immensely in my opinion. It feeds a lot of people - a 13x9 pan can definitely feed 15+. You can definitely make this a week or more ahead of time, just cover very tightly in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
What can I say but DELISH!!! You would never know it is ice cream sandwiches! Got so many compliments and takes great! I did ours in a 9x13 and it worked great but would work in 8x8 for smaller families
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie85

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
too rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I do not like this desert. Too much chocolate, not enough ice cream for all the extras. I spent about $15 for all ingrediants. Did not set up in 1 hour. Was all mush. Everybody said about the same concerning the chocolate. Maybe cut back on chocolate and only do 1 layer or add an extra layer of ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Awesomeeeee.... My husband, daughter, 3 sisters, and 3 brothers LOVED it and it was soooo simple. I made it for everyone for their first day of school. I added a little more peanut butter and also put the choc/peanut butter mixture on before adding the kool-whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I use honey roasted peanuts instead. Mmmm..this is a hit at every party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I can't stop eating it! Used the hot fudge and loved it. Took more than 24 bars. Next time will make one layer and reduce the guilt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Easy, cool, refreshing! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This is sooo good. Make sure your 9X13 pan is deep. Two layers of ice cream sandwiches and lots of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States