Hot Fudge Ice Cream Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My family loved this! I lined a loaf pan with saran wrap so dessert could be removed easily. Then I used hot fudge, caramel, and Heath bar pieces after each layer. Klodike ice cream sandwiches fit 2 1/2 on each layer. Rather than Cool Whip, I used real whipped cream sweetened with a little bit of sugar and vanilla and spread it over the top and down the sides. After chilling overnight, I removed the "loaf", sliced 1/2 inch pieces, and spread over the top fresh strawberries which had been macerated with a little sugar It was yummy and served 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
I mixed fudge, and caramel instead of the peanut butter, and syrup. I also used crushed up Heath bar bits in place of the nuts because we are not fans of peanuts. This was HEAVENLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I really thought this was good, but everyone else found it too rich. May make it for a different group sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Easy, rich and delicious. I did end up using two jars of hot fudge and only added peanut butter to the middle layer. Instead of topping with peanuts, I topped with Heath Bar bits. Everyone really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Army EOD Wife
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My husband loved it! I omitted the peanuts and instead added mini chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Army EOD Wife

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
So dangerous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Thank you for the great recipe. I used it as a baseline idea for a dessert for our holiday party at work. Instead of peanut butter, I use a layer of thick caramel sauce and hot fudge instead of chocolate syrup. It's so easy to make, and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cat_Fish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
ok so if you like DQ icecream cakes - this is for you. My family liked it but it was not 4 or 5 stars. I did substitue 14 chopped reeses pb cups for peanuts. I would hover rate the hershey syrup pb connoction with 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cupcake Divas

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I did read through the many reviews and since many said this was way too rich and my family doesn't eat a lot of sweets I decided to tone down the chocolate syrup, feeling 16 ounces was quite a lot. This is what I did and it was easier than the directions. I used a metal 13 X 9 pan and lined the bottom with the ice cream sandwiches, only had to cut one in half and they fit perfectly. Then I smeared a layer of peanut butter on top of them, not very thick, then just drizzled some chocolate syrup over that, added the peanuts and then drizzled caramel syrup and then the whipped topping. Then the next layer ice cream...and so on, topping with whipped cream and chopped peanuts and drizzled caramel on top. Let if freeze for about ten hours. This was such a hit at my Mom's 75th birthday party and certainly sweet enough. I used 24 of the cheap ice cream sandwiches from Walmart (2 boxes) and they all fit perfectly. The only change I'll do next time is to make sure it freezes for at least 24 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
This is the most amazing dessert!! We skipped the nuts, but everything else was a go. Our guests were amazed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 590) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States