Hot Fudge Ice Cream Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
VERY delicious, easy, summer dessert. I halved the recipe, using a deep 8x8 dish. It took 11 ice cream bars. I took others' advice & bought hot fudge topping instead. I used about 3/4 jar of that & mixed it with 1/2 cup reduced fat pb. It was somewhat stiff but spreadable. I'd probably work on smoothing that out for next time. Finally, I also ditched the peanuts & chopped up mini peanut butter cups. Everyone really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I also like doing toffee instead of peanuts and adding a little caramel syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I made a partial recipe with just one layer in an 8 inch pan. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Super easy. Super rich, but so yummy. Great for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
AMAZING... made it for Fathers Day & everyone wants it for their birthday now :) Will layer in on top of recipie next time with their favorite candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
There isn't anything in here that I don't love but I still felt this could have been better. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Holy cow! This recipe is EASY and delicious! I used about 19 sandwiches to fill my 9x13 pan. I didn't use peanuts, because I didn't have any, and that didn't impact the dish at all. Everyone LOVED it - even my sister who does not like peanut butter together with chocolate loved all of it. I would make this again and again. This is a great recipe to have in your back pocket when someone asks you to bring a dessert (as long as they have a freezer). I also did make one change. I layered the ice cream sandwhiches, then the chocolate/peanut butter mixture and then the cool whip and repeated that. I thought it would be too difficult to try to smooth the chocolate/peanut butter mixture on top of the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is super yummy and really easy! I have made other ice cream sandwich based desserts, but I would say this is my favorite. If you love peanut butter & peanuts this is for you too. I think that is what really makes this recipe so awesome. Great on a hot summer day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Another keeper! I made this last year and forgot to rate it. I made this for the kids and a cheesecake for the adults and quess which one went first? I used hot fudge and spread that on before the coolwhip. I left out the peanuts because most of the kids aren't fond of them. I did serve chopped pecans on the side fot the adults, along with a little pitcher of caramel sauce! Talk about overkill! What a wonderful summertime dessert! *Update* I have made this several times since I have posted. I thought I would remind everyone that it's ok to "wing it" with the ingredients. Since I last made it, the ice cream sandwichs I use have gotten much smaller. It took 11 & 2/3 sandwiches per layer in my 13x9 pan. I'm sure we will have to adjust to the times. The time may come when there is no longer a "large" box of Jello (5 1/2 oz) or a small bag of shredded carrots. I guess I will adjust some of my recipes if they need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This recipe was extremely easy and delicious. I had to make my own whipped cream which was a first. It turned out pretty good. I didn't follow exact quantities, but it was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States