Hot Fudge Ice Cream Bar Dessert Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This dessert was super simple! I had company coming and I made it up in about 15 minutes and everyone loved it! If you need a peanut free version of this dessert it is also very good with caramel and chocolate topping and skor bits in the middle layer with caramel drizzled on top. My family would highly recommend this dessert!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Wow!! Great dessert!! We had friends over, and I was thinking this may not be elegant enough for company, but everyone loved it!! I'm glad I went ahead and picked this one! YUMMMMMMMOOOOOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
JUST PLAIN YUMMM! So easy which makes it even yummier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made a smaller version of this for my sweet tooth S.O. for V-day and it was certainly a highlight! A lot more peanut buttery than I had expected and we both really loved it! In addition to crushed peanuts, I added crushed fudgeeo cookies which was a very welcome addition! Very easy and I am already planning to make again. Who doesn't love an ice cream cake??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Meh. Very average. I hate to admit it, but I have to agree with riblet on this one, albeit not for the same reasons (I have no problem using pre-processed foods every now and then). This sounded really yummy, but the end result didn't meet my standards at all. Surprisingly, I could barely taste the chocolate / PB sauce. All I could taste was ice cream sandwiches and Cool-whip. On the flipside, my hubby could ONLY taste the sauce and didn't like this because of that (he thought this would have been superb without the PB). Having said this, I think a caramel / chocolate layer would have been MUCH better. I layered in reverse (in a large cake pan) as many have suggested, so my dessert was covered with Cool-whip. This (I think) drowned out the chocolate syrup layer because it soaked into my ice cream sandwiches. For spreading purposes, it makes total sense to layer this way, but it does change how the flavors meld together, IMHO. Oh, and I think the peanuts would be much better chopped (I didn't care for the bites of whole peanuts - it was too much for me). Drizzled with chocolate syrup, this definitely "looked" pretty, but unfortunately, looks can be deceiving. I'm gonna pass leftovers off to my parents in hopes that they'll enjoy this enough to finish off. It's a shame to let everything go to waste and a real bummer to have found a SUPER easy recipe not worth repeating. Thanks anyways, JONAR. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Super easy and cheap dessert that tastes delicious. Easy to customize to your tastes too. Only change, put the chocolate on BEFORE the cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I have made this recipe many times and always get compliments and requests for the recipe! I make mine in a round glass bottom springform pan. I do one layer of sandwiches (cut where needed to fit the pan), the whole tub of whipped topping and then about 3/4 or a little less of the chocolate sauce...topped with crushed peanuts. I usually make the sauce as per the recipe and choose how much I want to use and pour the rest back in the bottle for later use on ice cream :) It cuts really easily out of the round pan and looks great on a plate with some caramel sauce zig zagged overtop or anything to your liking to decorate the plate! I've pulled this off at some nice sit down dinners and had great reviews! The wonderful thing is I always make it the day before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This is one of my family's favorite quick desserts. It's almost like a Peanut Buster Parfait, flavor-wise. Hot fudge topping can be used instead of chocolate syrup, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
I LOVED this dessert! It was so quick and easy to make. Not to mention delicious. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starsxsatellites

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was very tasty! Very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 588) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States