Hot Fudge Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
This frosting was definitly reminiscent of hot fudge in texture and taste. It also sealed in the moisture of the cake well, but it was somewhat hard to work with. There is a very fine line between cool enough to hold its shape and warm enough to pour over the cake, and I was too far on the "warm enough to pour" side of things. Still, everyone who tried the frosting liked it, and I would probably use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
We found this frosting to be somewhat bitter. The Karo Syrup and only 1/2 cup sugar just didn't make it sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
I'm of two minds about this frosting. My husband took one bite of the cake it was on and pushed his plate away saying "too bitter!". I didn't think it was too bitter, but it definitely has a "dark chocolate" flavor to it, more so than hot fudge for ice cream. It's also very gooey, sticky, making it quite difficult to cut your cake. I put the whole recipe on an 8x8 cake and it probably would have been enough for a 9x13. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Hello there, Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I made it and the frosting and put over a Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake. It kept it moist. The frosting was a little bit grainy. However after it sat, it was amazing. I will be using this recipe again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was a good hot fudge recipe. But I do have to say that this definitely not a fluffy frosting recipe. It is more like an ice cream topping. But very good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2007
I made this in search for a fudge cake frosting my mom and grandma used to make. I would not recommend this for a cake frosting - it was too gooey and stuck to everything. I found the frosting I wanted in an old Betty Crocker cookbook - similar except only 1 tbls. corn syrup and unlike this, it hardens to a fudge-like finish. This recipe might be more suited as an ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
always use
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly as it was directed, but mine didn't turn out good. I can't use it bec it didn't taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I have been searching for a hot fudge tasting frosting for about 6 weeks. I found this one and tried it. The taste is somewhat a little bitter, so I added a couple tablespoons of Hersheys hot fudge to it, while still cooking. To my surprise, it became the desired taste I wanted. It is still not fluffy, the cake layers tend to slide a bit. I will try cooking it just a tad longer, hoping that will stiffen it up a bit.~~Jan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Do NOT overcook this recipe! I thought I could maybe make it more frosting-like rather than heavy syrup, but I ended up with a wonderful "Tootsie Roll" type candy instead. I managed to unload some of the pan on to the top of my cake, but you cannot cut through it! Interesting when trying to serve!! Great flavor and texture as a candy--not a frosting the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldgold

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States