Hot Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
I found this recipe in a magazine and just thought I'd see if it was on Allrecipes, and here it is! I made it twice in 3 days because we wanted more after the first was gone, and there is only 2 of us in our house! Terrible, I know...it tastes great but it's very sweet. I have no idea why they say it is not overly sweet because it is! Serving warm topped with vanilla ice cream is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
When I read Leazer's review "No Flavor But Sweet" - I was confused. But, then I made it and tasted it...Now it all makes sense. Weird texture, flavor is just "hot sugar" not "hot fudge". (I even cut the white sugar to 1/2 cup) I'd say if you want something in this vein, make some of your favorite brownies and coat those with hot fudge sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
It baked up ok and was an easy recipe. I just thought it tasted like straight sugar - there wasn't really any other flavors and I wasn't crazy about the texture. I'll probably make it again, but only because my boyfriend loves it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HADHAFANG13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Natascha
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I made this cake as a Christmas dessert and everybody loved it! I made this 'cake' two times, ones in a small oven and once in a big oven. The first time it came out cake-like with much chocolate. The second time it wasn't all that 'caky' en there was less chocolate 'cake'. I liked the second one better and my whole family loved it. Pity that the second time there was less chocolate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natascha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
AWESOME!! My husband loved it. It is also good for a naughty breakfast the next day. The serving size is way off. I would say it is 6-8 servings. Other than that, I am going to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Thanks for this recipe!! My family really enjoyed it....was a great dessert with the pizza I made for dinner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Well this recipe brought me back to my childhood. My mom used to make one almost identical to this quite often. I'd give it 5 stars just for the simplicity of this dessert, but I thought it was a bit on the too sweet side. Oddly, the children didn't like it too much, but the adults did? When I make it again I think I'll cut back on some of the sugar and try to come closer to duplicating the one I grew up with. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
The cake-with-sauce idea was kind of cool, but no one in my house liked the way it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
There are not many chocolate recipes that I don't care for, but this one was not what I expected. Not much flavor other than sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woxall, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
An Excellent and easy 'all the ingredients are handy' recipe for those who need a chocolate fix. One thing to note though is that I added a bit more milk to make the batter smoother and easier to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Kretai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

How to Make a Hot Dog Cake

The perfect end to a picnic birthday meal!

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States