Hot Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
We thought that it was pretty good. We left out the oranges just because of the thought of hot orange pieces was not very appetizing. I also added a graham cracker & brown sugar crust on the bottom and crumbles on the top to give it more of a rounded texture and a little more of a cobbler flavor. With the additions I will definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I made this for a recipe exchange. Everyone raved about it and took home leftovers. I baked it instead of doing the crock pot. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a few pats of butter on the top like I do when I make a fruit pie. Everyone sat around giving ideas of other ways to enjoy this wonderful recipe. Some were: as a pie filling, with a cobbler crust, over ice cream, the list went on & on and the kitchen had a wonderful smell as it baked. Oh I did not bake it 90 minutes only about 1 hr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Good hot on pancakes and cold on ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Cape Charles, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
This was a big hit at the baby shower I hosted yesterday. Mama-to-be fell in love with it! I cut the peach slices into smaller bite-size pieces, and it was perfect. Many people asked for this recipe, and were so shocked to find out how easy it is to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Delicious. Didn't follow the recipe to a tee. Used a can of apple pie filling in addition to the cherry filling, no other apple products, grapes, and pretty much any other canned fruit we had to use up. Also omitted the sugar because of all the pie filling. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was very sweet. I didn't really care for it, but my girls had two helpings each, hence the 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Just make sure you drain all the fruit before mixing together. I also added some nutmeg to this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIALAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a solid slowcooker recipe for potlucks or home that always tastes great. Easy, easy...just pour in whatever canned fruit you have on hand along with the applesauce and cherry filling and forget it! Tastes like you slaved over it. (Just remember to drain the liquids or it will be a mess. I won't make THAT mistake again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This is a fabulous side for a holiday ham dinner. The first year we made it was a hit with the entire family, and it has become a tradition in our home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by d.anna.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynden, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
Excellent recipe! My husband and I both LOVED it! As usual, I did have to make a few changes. Since I had no jarred applesauce,(I usually make my own), I quickly peeled, cored, and chunked 3 Granny Smiths and cooked them on low for l5 mins. with 3 Tab. white sugar & a dash of lemon juice (tender stage) and "smashed" them a little but did leave small chunks for extra flavor. This made a perfect substitute! My only canned peaches were sweetened with Splenda, and they worked fine. I did cut each slice into 3rds(fits into the mouth better). Could not locate 8 oz. can of pineapple chunks in my grocery store so used tidbits instead, and they worked fine. I had a can of "lite" apple pie filling in my pantry (impulse buy) that needed to be used so I tossed that in. The end result had a wonderful texture and taste! Next time, I will probably add a can of pear halves, drained and chunked. This would make a beautiful presentation at a holiday meal because it is so colorful! It does make a lot (almost filled up my 13x9 dish), but you can enjoy it in a variety of ways. I warmed it and served it with teacakes as dessert, ate it as a side dish, and will serve it over pound cake slices with whipped topping for dessert tonight. Also, it will be wonderful with vanilla ice cream. A delicious and versatile dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States