Hot Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I love this recipe! It is very "tweak-able". A little more of this, a little less of that. It all works so beautifully! Depending on your favorite fruits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Share'nMillerThyme
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I just love this recipe. It is by far one of our favorites. It is versatile on two fronts - how you serve it and what you put in it. It can be used as a topping for pancakes/waffles/french toast/oatmeal, as a side dish, or as a dessert served with ice cream. I like to slice pound cake, lightly butter both sides, cut into cubes and lightly toast in the oven. These can then be sprinkled like croutons on the warm fruit and ice cream. It's also versatile in what you include. I made it per the recipe the first time, adding pears as others suggest. Finding that mandarins aren't that flavorful, I subsequently used orange marmalade to impart a better orange flavor. I also cut back on the sugar when using the marmalade. I toss in additional frozen cherries when I have them. Whole berry cranberry sauce is a tasty addition as well. This is great anytime of the year, but seems extra yummy in the fall/winter. Thanks for an awesome (and easy) recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This combination is too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Yummy. I thought it was a strange mixture of fruits, but had them all on hand, so decided to try it. I forgot the peaches and it was still delicious. Thank you for a great wintry day fruit recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by famfaithandfood,omy!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Great Recipe. The only thing I did differently was I used fresh apples and cooked them until they were soft and I sprinkled the top of the crock pot with brown sugar and instant oatmeal, it made a nice topping. I brought this recipe to a pot luck and it was weird, I kept seeing people pointing at me. Turns out they were trying to find out who brought the hot fruit salad because they wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I took this to my MOPS meeting and got a couple requests for the recipe. I thought it was very nice for our breakfast meeting on a cold morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Even though, I'd call this hot fruit soup because it was so runny, (yes, I drained all the fruits) it was delicious and versatile. I served this as a side dish with Make Ahead Breakfast Casserole, also from this site. I'm sure it would be wonderful with a crisp topping or served over pound cake. Next time, I'll substitute fresh apple slices for the applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I've loved this recipe for a long time. My mom adds pear slices as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IL_Mike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
Wow, this is totally amazing and yet so simple. Never mind the first review! I made a few changes. I diced and boiled 2 lg. Granny Smith apples in 1-2 T fresh lemon juice and a tiny bit of water to keep from sticking instead of applesauce and I cut the sugar in about half. I mixed it all together the night b4 and put it in the fridge and then the next morning I heated it on the stove and simmered only 15 min. I served it for brunch w/ Cool Whip on top and my guests loved it!!! I will definately put this on my regular menu!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States