Hot Dog a la Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Easy recipe, we call it stuffed weiners. You can use the packets of seasoned instant potatoes such as garlic or loaded potatoes, forget the american cheese, add cheddar and bake for 30 minutes. Add a little Frank's sauce if you want and it goes great with a salad and some Stouffer's mac and cheese...try some Frank's on the mac and cheese too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Correia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
"Pretty darn tasty" as they would say around here. Very good, cheap and easy meal to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is a recipe that I have used for over 20 years. For perfection, use jalapeno onion cheese dogs, garlic mashed potatos and top with sharp cheddar. This tip especially for the one star review that said it was bland and potatos don't go with hot dogs. This will certainly change your review to 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sledgehammer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This is really good, cheap and easy. My 61 year old husband was one of seven children of a butcher in N.J. and his mother really needed to stretch her dollars. I'd never heard of it but found it yummy. I pan seared my split hot dogs first to get that deep brown crisp on them which really adds another, delicious layer of flavor. I also had to use shredded cheddar because it's all I had. I also used Idahoan brand four cheese instant mashies because I had no leftovers. Talk about fast prep. Regardless of my changes, you can tell this is a wonderful recipe open to your imagination. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Pretty good and tasty meal here. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Great idea for kids !! I was watching the neighbor's three boys tonight.. ages 15, 10 and 8 and they just thought this was the greatest ! I grilled the hotdogs first, added leftover mashed potatoes. Wrapped them individually in foil and put back on the grill for a short time to heat. Added some shredded swiss cheese on top. Served this over saurkaut, so there was no bun needed. Thanks for posting a unique way to make hotdogs and please kids, Deb Paul.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I thought I was the only one who new this recipe ; ) My mom raised 8 kids and needed quick, cheap meals. This one fit the bill. The only thing different we did was add a stream of mustard down the center slit and a squiggly one on top of the cheese before. Also, we did up the whole dog, potatoes, cheese and mustard and then put them in the oven to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
The MIL calls these "stuffed hot dogs." Very simple and quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil' Punkin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I have to admit I'm not a hot dog fan at all, so this recipe looked disgusting to me, but I had a HUGE bowl of leftover Thanksgiving potatoes, hubby and I were both trying to lose weight, and all 3 kids were sick of mashed potatoes. It was super quick and easy enough to make just for the kids, and they DEVOURED them! My kids usually devour hot dogs, but leave everything else (yet they think a bun is necessary... some kind of decoration, I guess.) They ate the entire thing with these, so they got more well-rounded nutrition out of it too (as well rounded as you can get with a hot dog, anyway!) I think these will be a staple lunch food for my kids whenever we have leftover potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
We make these all the time. We call them "lucky dogs " great kid friendly recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Stine Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

How to Make Twice Baked Potatoes

Watch how to make doubly delicious twice-baked potatoes.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States