Hot Dog Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
I loved it! Interesting mix of ingrediants. Tastes even better when heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2001
To me this did not sound like a very good meal my husband thought, how weird hot dog soup, said he would not like it, however I was really surprised at how good this soup did turn out and my husband loved it too!! It was very easy to prepare, I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wow, what a good idea! It was great. I replaced the beans with a can of peas though and also a can of corn. we all loved it. It was more of a stoup, and very filling in these hard times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
what a great Recipe a good kid pleaser and very filling. will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Great starter recipe! I made the following changes: I used my standard soup base/starter (onion and celery sauteed on EVOO with a pinch each of rosemary, thyme, marjoram and a bay leaf, add two chicken bouillon cubes, crushed, one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and two cups boiling water) then added three cups Schwan's mini bow tie pasta and vegetable blend and 1/2 package turkey hot dogs, sliced. My kids absolutely love it and I love that I can satisfy their never ending demand for hot dogs with something balanced and healthy. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I didn't expect this to be as good as it was but we really liked this. It's good to have variety. I sauted everything in olive oil instead of margarine. I used frozen mixed veggies instead of just green beans but that's a matter of preference and wouldn't change it drastically. I did take the advise of one review and added thyme & marjorum, as well as garlic which I usually add to everything, and some chopped celery in addition to the mixed veggies (carrots, cauliflower & broccoli). We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
i loved this recipe and so did my family. they thought i was crazy but when they tasted it it was all good. i added extra ingred. instead of potatoes i added small pasta also majoriam.garlic,bay leaf,2 boullion cubes,1 can dices tomatoes and more water i was still like a stoop but it ws great. would recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilva Frigo-Neville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Made this couple weeks ago and my husband flipped out thought it was going to be soooo nasty but.... when he got home and smelled the house he actually tried it and loved it! And tonight he says to me, "remember that hot dog soup you made can we have it tomorrow? " and was so happy when I said i would make it. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This Is Super Easy, And Totally Awesome..Well Make Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by courtbake87
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I made this recipe previously before, and I made it again today. The first time, I followed the recipe to exact except, I added some italian herb seasoning to the soup. This time I used traditional prego sauce instead of the tomato sauce. I also used more chicken broth and I added some sliced chourice with the hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by courtbake87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States