Hot Dog Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Not bad at all. A friend of mine' mother made this all the time. The sound of it turned me off. Until today. I had only a few ingredients in the fridge, I took the leap. I didn't have a onion or potatoes. But i did have a frozen bag of Potatoes O'Brien in the freezer. It has the onion, and potatoes. Plus green peppers. I just followed the recipe as is, except added what i had. plus the garlic, Marjoram and tyme (salt and pepper to taste.) and it turned out well. I will add that I only eat good qaulity Beef Hotdogs and also added a can of kidney beans to fill up on. Now what was a experiment to have for lunch, is now what's for dinner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
i loved this recipe and so did my family. they thought i was crazy but when they tasted it it was all good. i added extra ingred. instead of potatoes i added small pasta also majoriam.garlic,bay leaf,2 boullion cubes,1 can dices tomatoes and more water i was still like a stoop but it ws great. would recommend!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilva Frigo-Neville

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I thought this was pretty good. It took a little to get used to having hot dogs in soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSGRIMM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I didn't expect this to be as good as it was but we really liked this. It's good to have variety. I sauted everything in olive oil instead of margarine. I used frozen mixed veggies instead of just green beans but that's a matter of preference and wouldn't change it drastically. I did take the advise of one review and added thyme & marjorum, as well as garlic which I usually add to everything, and some chopped celery in addition to the mixed veggies (carrots, cauliflower & broccoli). We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Great starter recipe! I made the following changes: I used my standard soup base/starter (onion and celery sauteed on EVOO with a pinch each of rosemary, thyme, marjoram and a bay leaf, add two chicken bouillon cubes, crushed, one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and two cups boiling water) then added three cups Schwan's mini bow tie pasta and vegetable blend and 1/2 package turkey hot dogs, sliced. My kids absolutely love it and I love that I can satisfy their never ending demand for hot dogs with something balanced and healthy. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
It was time for me to go shopping again so I didn't have many ingrediants to work with. This recipe popped and I thought sure why not. I have 2 kids that love hot dogs. The only thing I changed was I used half a bag of frozen peas and half bag of mixed veggies. Also used vegetable broth. Was very tasty! Watch out! The potatoes hold heat for a long time! We burned our tongues! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Salvati

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
We had something similar to this growing up. Our version was: Saute the onion along with a diced green pepper and the cut up hotdogs in a pan until the vegtables softened and the hotdogs got some carmelization. Then add the can of tomato sauce, a little worcestershire sauce, some garlic powder and some red pepper flakes. Let it cook for about 20-30 minutes and you are good to go. Great served with either rice or mashed potatoes and a veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
what a great Recipe a good kid pleaser and very filling. will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wow, what a good idea! It was great. I replaced the beans with a can of peas though and also a can of corn. we all loved it. It was more of a stoup, and very filling in these hard times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marian
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Really easy to make so that's a bonus! Had a lot of hot dogs in the freezer and it's the end of the month so I decided to make hot dogs. Saw this recipe and thought I would give it a try. Only had two potatoes so I used some leftover french fries from the night before. Instead of green beans I used peas. Instead of chicken broth I used a bouillon cube (beef, chicken, pork) for a nice rounded out taste. Lastly, instead of tomato sauce, I used what was left of a jar of spaghetti sauce and a jar of salsa to make 8 oz. Those alterations might have resulted in a different soup than the original, but it was well received and I could see a child really enjoying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States