Hot Dog Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2001
To me this did not sound like a very good meal my husband thought, how weird hot dog soup, said he would not like it, however I was really surprised at how good this soup did turn out and my husband loved it too!! It was very easy to prepare, I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
While the end result was good, adjustment was needed along the way. 1) The main problem was that this was exceedingly bland; I alleviated this by adding bay leaves and pepper. 2) A 14.5 oz. can of chicken broth would have been too much; an 11 1/2 oz. can worked just fine. 3) Green beans are not the right vegetable for this soup, so I used mixed vegetables. 9 oz. was not enough; I used 16 oz. I'll make this again because it was simple and the kids ate it, but with the above changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Wow, what a good idea! It was great. I replaced the beans with a can of peas though and also a can of corn. we all loved it. It was more of a stoup, and very filling in these hard times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I was a bit skeptical to try this out, but I had all the ingredients on hand, so I gave it a whirl. I also added garlic powder, a bit of oregano, and a dash of basil. Low and behold, this was pretty darn tasty! I especially love the soup base, yum. But I think green beans were the wrong veggie choice for this soup, and I love green beans. Thanks for the recipe, Nancy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Great starter recipe! I made the following changes: I used my standard soup base/starter (onion and celery sauteed on EVOO with a pinch each of rosemary, thyme, marjoram and a bay leaf, add two chicken bouillon cubes, crushed, one 14.5 oz can of diced tomatoes and two cups boiling water) then added three cups Schwan's mini bow tie pasta and vegetable blend and 1/2 package turkey hot dogs, sliced. My kids absolutely love it and I love that I can satisfy their never ending demand for hot dogs with something balanced and healthy. Thanks! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Andover, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Wadena, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Buchholz
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This Is Super Easy, And Totally Awesome..Well Make Again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Buchholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2002
this is very quick and easy! when time is not on your side, use this recipe. kids will eat it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2001
I loved it! Interesting mix of ingrediants. Tastes even better when heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I never thought about using hot dogs in a soup. I didn't have all the same ingredients. I had a frozen mixed bag of veggies, a can of petite diced tomatoes, a beef bouillon cube and a package of wieners. I threw everything in a pot and boiled it up. Added salt and pepper. Very good. My first homemade soup too! Now I'm thinking of more different variations! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sandusky, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I didn't expect this to be as good as it was but we really liked this. It's good to have variety. I sauted everything in olive oil instead of margarine. I used frozen mixed veggies instead of just green beans but that's a matter of preference and wouldn't change it drastically. I did take the advise of one review and added thyme & marjorum, as well as garlic which I usually add to everything, and some chopped celery in addition to the mixed veggies (carrots, cauliflower & broccoli). We'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States