Hot Dog Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Very good, but in trying to match the hot dog sauce at a local landmark, I knew there was no barbecue sauce in it so I omitted it and instead added 2 tbsp. tomato paste, 1/2 tsp. cider vinegar, a little paprika and cayenne. I also increased the chili powder and cumin. This would be fine without using the food processor, but I did pulse this through a few times - again, to better match our local place's sauce....which I ended up doing, perfectly! Thank for the recipe! With my changes, it will appear at every one of our cookouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Rather than cooking meat beforehand, try putting everything in your pot and simmer for a couple of hours. Found that we like it best this way. No need for a food processor either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Really tasty! After it simmered and thickened up I tasted it and added about a tsp of hot pepper sauce just for a little extra heat. Enjoyed it-Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
good, but a lil too sweet. I made this for a bbq to try something diff, nobody put it on their hotdog but several ate it like a sloppy joe, on a hamburger bun. This makes a great sloppy joe recipe, i would add a lil more spice than sweetness tho
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great recipe. unfortunately, I had to mix in blender and meat was pureed, not chopped.Still loved it on a recent camping trip to the beautiful Catskill Mts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This will be a staple at every BBQ we have this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
You can't go wrong making this per directions; your unique "signature" rests with YOUR CHOICE particular flavor style BBQ sauce, your custom amounts of chili powder AND that size "pinch" of red pepper flakes. This "sauce" has American Cook Out splashed all over it---and can inspire one to construct their own fancy Hot Dog. I butterfly cut the Hot Dog franks; speeds up grill time AND doubles the amount of franks, so everyone has plenty to enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Very tasty! A great alternative to that canned stuff and very easy to prepeare. Adds unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Easy to make and it's ok, not a family favorite but it's ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I make a sauce very similar to this one. Never thought about putting the meat into a food processor. I use a pastry cutter (like you would use for pie crusts). Easier to wash than all the food processor parts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dijon Pan Sauce

See how to make a delicious mustard pan sauce for roasted pork tenderloin.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States