Hot Dog Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I used EVOO instead of corn oil and I cut back just a touch on the salt. The recipe didn't state what kind of onion to use, I made a judgement call and used an extra large sweet onion. That was the only change I made in this recipe. We had these piled on top of barbequed kielbasa. NO leftovers. This was absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
FANTASTIC! If I could give this 10 stars, I would! The flavors of these onions are awesome...spicy, tangy and sweet. A perfect compliment to a hot dog. Hubby said he's gonna ask for these every time I make hot dogs, lol. Made exactly as written. Definate keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
So good! Next time I'll rough-chop the onion as I thought the slices where a bit challenging to eat altho they look great on the hot dog. I cut back on the salt, plus the hot sauce and cayenne as we are wimpy with hot foods altho we like spicy flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Though it's not a recipie I personally would try (a bit spicy for me) My husband LOVED these! He made an egg sandwich and put the hotdog onions ontop and said they are better than the family recipie for peppers! lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I put this on brats. Love onions, love these X 10. I'm thinking on hamburgers or maybe in hamburgers, both? My hot sauce was HOT so this had a nice burn. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My husband and I loved these onions! A great spicy topping for a hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Loooved these onions! Spicy and tangy, but not overwhelming. My 4 year old was begging for hot dogs tonight, and since I kept seeing these being raved about on the Buzz, I felt like I HAD to try them. Yum!! A nice way to make an ordinary hot dog a little more fun and interesting. Thanks for the recipe, Lillian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Loved this recipe! Christina (fellow AR buzzer) raves about these onions, so I had to try them. They are every bit as delicious as she recommends! We really liked the zip that the Frank's RedHot Sauce(R) adds to these onions. Very easy to put together and they add so much flavor to the dogs. Thanks Lillian for sharing this recipe. Can't wait to try them on brats and hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
My wife is not fond of sauteed onion with sauce on her hotdog but this one She approved it and put on her hotdog after she tasted it... I am keeping this and do it again for family gathering coming up soon....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mayodan, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Pretty good! I've never had onions from a NYC hot dog stand, so I have nothing to compare these to, but I'm confident Lillian hit the nail on the head. :) I'm generally not a fan of grilled onions, but these weren't bad at all. My hubs commented that the spices added a nice kick. To add pizzaz to our weeknight dinner, I purchased poppyseed hot dog buns and Vienna all-beef hot dogs (the "official" Chicago dog of choice). Served with french fries on the side and cream sodas to cure the heartburn (lol), this was a fun, no fuss meal. Thanks Lillian! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

How to Cut Onions

See an easy way to peel and chop onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States