Hot Dog Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by AllieGeekPi
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made these onions according to the recipe. They are wonderfully spicy. I enjoyed them with saurkrout on a boiled hotdog. Thank you LilLian for sharing this simple tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I can't say I've ever eaten a wiener from the hot dog cart w/out enjoying a few hoppy beverages first, so I really don't have anything to, objectively, compare these hot dog onions to. That being said, these are fantastic! I made them this evening to top grilled hot dogs and both Mr. LTH and I really enjoyed them (well, Mr. Sissypants did deem them a little "hot", but that's just because he saw me add the Red Hot)! I stayed true to the recipe w/the exception of subbing EVOO for corn oil (no corn oil) and eliminating the black pepper (gross). These will be a camping staple in the LTH world this summer. THANKS for the great unique recipe, Lillian!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Pretty good! I've never had onions from a NYC hot dog stand, so I have nothing to compare these to, but I'm confident Lillian hit the nail on the head. :) I'm generally not a fan of grilled onions, but these weren't bad at all. My hubs commented that the spices added a nice kick. To add pizzaz to our weeknight dinner, I purchased poppyseed hot dog buns and Vienna all-beef hot dogs (the "official" Chicago dog of choice). Served with french fries on the side and cream sodas to cure the heartburn (lol), this was a fun, no fuss meal. Thanks Lillian! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Really liked the kick the seasoning gave the hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkr1222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Great! I doubled up on the ingredients because it seemed quite dry... maybe my onion was just a little bit too large for the recipe... It turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
My husband and I loved these onions! A great spicy topping for a hot dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Made this a long time ago when Lillian posted it on another site. So good! I have actually made them quite a bit since then cause I don't have a hot dog without them ;) They are perfectly sweet with some zing from the mustard. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
FANTASTIC! If I could give this 10 stars, I would! The flavors of these onions are awesome...spicy, tangy and sweet. A perfect compliment to a hot dog. Hubby said he's gonna ask for these every time I make hot dogs, lol. Made exactly as written. Definate keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

How to Cut Onions

See an easy way to peel and chop onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States