Hot Dog Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I love this recipe, I never thought making hotdogs this awesome could be so easy. My husband asks for them all the time. I do add some brown sugar and a little more white sugar to really get that sweet spicy factor:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Awesome. My wife eats them on a roll without the hot dog. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
These were super good on top of smoked sausages. Will be making these every time we have dogs ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Lord have mercy, these were SO GOOD! I'm kicking myself for not having made these earlier! Thank you so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Wow. What a new and fun way to eat brats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
My boyfriend is from Staten Island. I made these for him and he said these are spot on. He is a spicy wimp and these are perfect for him. I used EVOO instead of corn oil, cut back a little on the salt, added about a tablespoon more tomato paste, and a bit more sugar. It depends on the onion you are using as to how you might want to add a little more of this and cut back a little bit on that. This is a fantastic recipe to adapt to your own personal taste without changing the main flavor. I have also used them to top hamburgers, Boudin sausage, and brauts. I would give it ten stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa and Roy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatsworth, California, USA
Living In: Bedias, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
These are very hot onions. My husband liked them but if I make again I will add only 1/8 teaspoon or less of the cayanne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Holy spiciness! I admit that I'm a spice whimp but O....M....G were these HOT! I could not get past 1 bite & my eyes were watering, lips were burning. Yes, I followed the recipe, no I didn't make any mistake in measurements. I really want to try more but I'm skeered :) Really hard to rate on just 1 bite so I'll go in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I really liked these, but not so much for my hubs. Although, it was a nice change. We like ours with some texture so I topped it with crushed chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Wow, these are really hot! However, the underlying flavor was good and I liked the texture of the onions. The person I made them for loves hot food and I think will really like these on a hotdog. I never quite tried anything like this, interesting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States