Hot Dog Creole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I had a lot of venison hot dogs to use up from my husband's hunting trip last year, so I've been looking for new ways to cook them. This was a pretty good recipe, especially since the venison hot dogs have more of a kielbasa texture to them. I did as others suggested and served it over a bed of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I was looking for a creative way to cook hot dogs - great recipe. I modified a bit. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and sauteed a minced clove of garlic prior to the other items, added 3 stalks of celery thinly sliced, used 1/2 red onion and 1/2 white and added 1 tsp of cayenne pepper - served over a bed of cous cous (was out of white rice)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I have to admit...I am amazed at how good this is! I was trying to clean out my pantry and freezer before going to the grocery store and found this recipe. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed, and I used red peppers. I also omitted the oil and used the low-fat Hebrew National hot dogs to make this much lower in calories and fat. I sprinkled a little Splenda over it to cut the acid and served this over brown rice. Not bad at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
my family loved this.I used 3 medium peppers i wanted to use up.I warmed up the sautee pan and started adding onions as I was still cutting by time I cut and added all the peppers I coverd the pan for a few minutes steam wich gave me more juice then I added the hot dogs and coverd again for a few minutes.I decided not to brown the hot dogs but to make extra juice so I could serve this over rice and it worked fine.I also added a few good shakes of creole seasoning and used good beef hot dogs.Thanks for posting we will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Footnote: To make this a low fat recipe, use either low fat or fat free hotdogs along with cooking spray (such as Pam) in place of the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Not bad for something quick and easy. I served this over a bed of white rice, and added creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is kind of like a poor man's jambalya!! I didn't have hot dogs so I used breakfast sausage that I mixed with the frozen onion, pepper and celery mixture. I used a can of spicy diced tomatoes. Mixed it all together with rice. Pretty good will probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
My mother used to make this when I was a child and called it "Hot Dog Slop". It's cheap, quick and surprisingly good. I like it best over egg noodles and topped with grated parmesan cheese. It's definitely one of those recipes you just have to try to appreciate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Pretty Good! My kids loved it so I'm keeping this recipe around! We had wayyyyeee too many hot dogs and we couldn't just have mac N cheese w/ hotdogs or hot dogs in buns every night! This recipe caught my eye and I gave it a try. My kids came back for thirds! A nice, simple recipe that's not over the top and a beginner cook like myself can do it! (I used frozen bell peppers and served this with noodles and veggies on the side)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AgaCobra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fairmount, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make Hot Pepper Jelly

See how to make a spicy red and green bell pepper jelly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States