Hot Date with a Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is wonderful and different. Remember that the recipe calls for 2 breast HALVES. That's one breast cut length-wise in half. You could not pound to 1/4 inch otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
loved this. Use fresh breasts to roll though. Had frozen so quickly browned one side of breast and made sandwiches -sort of- with 2 flattened breasts. Great filling! Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I doubled this recipe to serve 4 people and, in the absence of mace, used 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg in the stuffing. My guests loved this dish and it is so elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This one is company special. I could not manage to pound my chicken to 1/4 inch (and I was beginning to think the neighbors might be wondering WHAT was going on over here), so I slit the pieces and stuffed the slit meat, pinning with toothpicks and proceeding as instructions indicated. Had to substitute craisins for the apricots this time, but this worked well with the apple flavor. (Oooh, wonder what dried mangoes might be like!) Also, we are not the brave souls we once were, so reduced the cayenne by half with no ill effect. Truly beautiful, fairly simple (if you work around the 1/4 inch thing), and very, very tasty. Thank you for posting, Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I sliced a slit in my chicken then opened it up and sliced open the edges until it lay flat, then I rolled it around my stuffing, otherwise I followed the recipe as written, no only was it delicious but it presented beautifully as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Husband made this for dinner and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I took a gamble on this one and I am so glad I did. Even my picky, fruit-loathing hubby LOVED this. My only complaint is that the pistachios were not listed in the ingredients when I first tried this - so I guessed and just threw in a handful of them. I used 1/2 cinnamon and 1/2 nutmeg in lieu of the full amount of mace. I also subbed dried figs for dates. Otherwise I followed the recipe to a T. It makes a great deal of filling, FYI - we probably only used 2/3 of it. A fun, different recipe that looks and smells delicious. Thanks Jacki!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadtownCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
This is soo good just remember to not touch the hot pan while taking it out of the oven. I made this for my husband on Valentines day and ended up burning both my hands on the pan....i think i needed to be more focused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Ivany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Used skinned & deboned thighs instead of the complication of breasts without even using a mallet and worked pretty fine - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is a pretty different, good recipe. A lot of work to prepare; I thought the cardamom was a little overpowering and the cayenne somewhat distracting, i'd cut that in half next time although usually the spicier the better for me. I felt it was missing something and that another spice might have been an appropriate addition but couldn't quite put my finger on it... definitely needed more apricots and more than the 1/2 cup of pistachios I put in since it wasn't specified in the recipe. I'd use at least a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States