Hot Cross Buns II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
What did I do wrong? Followed the recipe to the letter, even purchased new yeast to ensure freshness. I am not a novice bread maker, yet this dough didn't rise after two hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Fantastic! I switched out the honey for molasses, and added raisins...wonderful, hearty, and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
my buns were not very good. my hot cross buns turned out to be deadly weapons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I decided to make these without the cross as indicated, instead I used a powdered sugar and sour cream frosting. The buns are delicious! I like the nutmeg more than I thought I would! The candied peel gives these a taste of holiday bread! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I used whole wheat pastry flour and the bun itself turned out tender and flavorful. I had trouble with the topping. The dough was difficult to roll out. We ended up rolling each piece by hand but the crosses mostly cracked and fell off. I will make this again but use frosting or some of the dough for the crosses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Alba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
These came out very good. I substituted raisins for the currants and chopped dried apricots for the candied fruit peel. Also, I did icing crosses instead of pastry ones. I did end up adding an extra 3/4 cup of flour, although that may have been because I started with 2 cups whole wheat and 2 cups all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is a terrific whole wheat flour recipe. I used golden raisins instead of currants, and I left out the candied fruit. These are easy to make and taste great, though they might be a little too sweet for some people to have with dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
I made this for the nursing home I worked at and everyone loved them. I also took some into work and they enjoyed them. I have never made hot cross buns before and found this receipe easy. I did sub all white flour because I didn't have the whole wheat flour. I hope more people try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
The recipe seems to work well, I might need to perfect my bread making skills a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States