Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2004
Just made these buns today, wonderful. I didn't want to wait to add the raisins, (not a currant in the house)so they went in with everything else, didn't seem to hurt anything except to maybe make the buns a darker color, if you want whole raisins don't do this. A quick tip to make the frosting, put your powdered sugar, milk, and vanilla in a heavy plastic sandwich bag, mix by kneading the bag gently when all the ingredients are mixed well cut a tiny hole in one corner of the bag and squeeze to make the crosses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2001
Since I was short on time, I decided to try this bread machine version over my 'traditional' recipe....and these buns were awesome! The even tasted just like my regular recipe! I did make some changes as my standby recipe was a bit different and you may want to try this too: I added 1 tsp. each vanilla extract & butter flavoring, 1/2 tsp. allspice, 1 tsp. each dried lemon and orange peel and 3/4C. mixed candied fruit. So good with a cup of tea.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2002
My husband says that the traditional hot cross buns have a sweetened dough cross rather than an icing one, so I made a sweet dough out of an egg white, some confectioners sugar, all purpose flour and some vanilla and put it on after brusing the tops with the egg yolk mixture - turned out great! Our guests loved them and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Absolutely delish! Instead of using the warm water and powdered milk, I used 3/4 cup of warm skim milk. I ended up leaving off the crosses, so that it's easier to heat them up, toast them, etc. and we loved them. So easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
To make the buns more traditional (and toastable) make a paste of plain flour and water (you can add a tiny bit of sugar and spice to make it more tasty) and pipe the buns with crosses of paste before baking. Then, brush buns with a swwt glaze (sugar, water, gelatin, spice) when they come out of the oven. Also, try using rasins and peel. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is a great recipe! I added 2/3 cup of candied fruit and 1 teaspoon of Vanilla to original recipe. I used rasins instead of currants and unbleached flour because that was what I had on hand! I love them! The house smells wonderful!!! I think I could make a double batch in my bread machine next time. I made two individual recipes for Easter and I am sure they will be a hit tomorrow! Thanks Sue! I love using the bread machine to make the dough. They are quick to throw together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
These were really very nice! I was pleasantly surprised to find a recipe for this Easter treat that I could make in my bread machine. Fancier models of bread machines that have a dough cycle that includes a rising time can omit the rising in the pan described in the original recipe. I also would go ahead and add the currants/raisins and cinnamon with the rest of the ingredients, rather than waiting. The taste is much like very light white bread with a hint of cinnamon and raisins. If you prefer more zip, add the allspice, vanilla, butter extract etc as recommended by a previous reviewer. However, the recipe as it stands is really very good. The buns come out huge and golden - picture perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
The BEST recipe for Hot Cross Buns I've ever had. I've used this recipe for years and had many people request the recipe. The only change I make is to add mixed dried fruit and peel as a substitute for most of the currants AND I remove the dough to a bowl sprayed with Pam and let it rise (covered with a towel) in a warm place. This frees up the machine to start a 2nd or 3rd batch!! Thanks. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2003
Really good recipe. They turn out a little heavier than store bought HCB, but I'm an unexperienced breadmaker and have had this happen with other yeast breat recipes. Also, I didn't use a breadmaker(just kneeded for 5-10 minutes) Maybe they would end up fluffier if I used a breadmaker. I put a sweetdough cross on it as well instead of icing and found this to more like the store bought ones. I used 1/2 cup flour, 1/2 cup icing sugar, vanilla and 2 tsp or so milk to make it the desired consistancy. The second time I made them I tried putting the sweetdough in an empty milkbag with a small hole cut in the corner and piped the crosses on the buns. They definately taste better with cloves and allspice(1/2 tsp each) added. I also used raisons and found them fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
This is an awesome recipe! My husband loved it! It is soo easy! I added raisins instead of the currants and I liked that the raisins (being added in the last 5 min) didn't get chopped up but stayed whole and added a nice sweet flavor. I will definately make these again. This was my first time ever making hot cross buns and I will do it again! Review Number 2 on this recipe--I made this again but I got lazy and didn't want to make all those rolls so I made 12 and put the rest of the dough in a loaf pan. I let it rise as per instructions and baked it for 30 minutes. I took it out after 15 minutes because the top was golden brown. I tested it using a metal skewer. The inside was still gooey. I covered the loaf with foil and baked for another 10 minutes. Not quite done. Back in still covered for 5 more minutes. Done! I let it cool and frosted it with a carrot cake frosting of 8oz cream cheese, 4 tbsp butter and 3 1/2 cups powdered sugar. Now granted, it makes way too much for a bread ot rolls, but I also made a carrot cake that used most of it. My kids raved about the rolls! The bread came out good too although it was hard to cut and the individual slices didn't hold their shape as I was slicing it. An awesome recipe!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States