Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Not impressed with this recipe. Came out dry and lacking in flavor. The only thing that kept them edible was lots of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
yummy! great recipe. Like others, I made sweet dough crosses, with left over flour, yolk and water mixture, along with a tinsy bit of cinnamon (I love cinnamon - also used it in the glaze), icing sugar and vanilla essence, which I piped on with sandwich bag before baking, ending up a wee bit crispy. Had oven at about 30 degrees for the rising, as I have no bread machine. Used low fat milk and a little bit of water instead of the milk powder and water, and turned out fine. I will be using this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicity
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My family LOVED these buns. I made them for Good Friday. I used whole wheat flour and skipped the powdered milk because I didn't have any. They were really sweet and delicious, although more like cinnamin buns almost. I had to add more sugar to the icing because it was too thin, I don't know if it made a difference that it was organic. Overall, I highly recommend these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a first time for me. The buns turned out great. I made them the evening before Good Friday so they were ready in the morning for my family. Everyone loved them. My son, who came home late at night on Thursday said the house smelled wonderful and wanted to eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Wow, I have never eaten them before with raisins so I used candied fruit and they were perfect and awesome!! Love this recipe will always use this recipe!! Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
excellant. Only change I made was using raisins instead of currants. Sold fast at the bake sale. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Excellent recipe!! I did not use a bread machine, I proffed in the oven and it still came out perfect. Fast (for a yeast dough), easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mercedes Belgrove

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I wanted to make hot cross buns for Easter, but I am not a fan of the traditional currants and spices. I enjoyed this recipe and made the following changes to suit my tastes: (they came out very good and I got compliments on them at a pre-Easter party) I substituted 3/4 cups dried blueberries for the currants and 1 tsp lemon zest for the cinnamon. For the glaze, I added a drop or two of lemon extract to the other ingredients. These changes made the buns have a nice spring flavor - if you are willing to break with the traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This is a keeper! Perfect, quick & easy. I did follow advice about the cross though... Mix 1/4 cup icing sugar, 1/4 cup flour, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tbsp milk, and enough water to make a thick paste & pipe on after brushing with egg...before baking. They turned out PERFECT. We are on our second batch. And I used raisins instead of currants...don't think it would change it too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cobble Hill, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen L
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I just made this recipe tonight & it turned out very good.There was a spice missing to give it that true hot cross bun flavour,perhaps allspice. I used margarine & raisins instead of butter & currents. Make sure to grease the pan generously or use parchment paper.I will definately made this easy recipe again once I discover the missing spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen L

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States