Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
This is my first time making hot cross buns-- delicous---I added golden rasins,lemon zest, allspice and nutmeg---I would sugest clear vanilla extract to prevent brown icing.....I wlill definitly make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Excellent , in terms of the buns. The only reason it's a 4 is that the frosting is brown, not white, when you put in the vanilla as directed, so the crosses aren't visible, and the frosting is way too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
These were very nice for Easter. I used golden raisins and everyone really liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Really good. Made for Easter dinner. I only know of these from the children's song so I didn't know they'd be that sweet. We think they'd be a good Easter morning pastry. Kind of reminded me of cinnamon rolls. I used cranberries instead. Only took 15 mins in my oven and that was a little too long. So watch closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
exactly as recipe only used milk instead of the water, omitting the powdered milk....used craisins as my pantry dictated...bun itself rose nicely, browned nicely, used parchment paper, but dough was not sticky out of breadmaker....perfect....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becca
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I made these for Easter. I had no bread machine so I had to make these by hand. I used raisins insted of currants and added orange zest. They turned out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PieKid
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
My husband asks for these. Just the right amount of everything! I have made this recipe with dried cranberries + currants and chopped cherries + currants, etc. Excellent recipe - thank you for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This is a great hot cross buns recipe! I have two suggestions for making dough in a breadmaker: 1. Proof the yeast first in a bit of water and add a teaspoon of sugar. 2. Never add all the flour at the beginning, and never measure the flour! Here is what you do: Add all dough ingredients except sugar, flour, proofed yeast and currents to bread machine pan. Dump about 1 1/2 cups of four on top of the liquidy mixture. Top this with sugar and proofed yeast. Start the breadmaker, and let the glutton form as the machine mixes the mixture. As soon as the machine starts to really mix, start topping up with additional flour, about 1/4 cup at a time, until the mixture is smooth, moist, but not sticky. If you reach in and some comes off in your fingers, add a bit more flour until you can touch it without any sticking. This way you have added just the right amount of flour. Flour gets compacted so easily, so many times if you "measure" flour, you end up with thick, dense buns. This method takes a bit more "watching" but will always result in better buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe was good. I tweaked it a bit. I doubled the butter, added a bit more sugar, added the other suggested spices, and did craisins because I live overseas and couldn't get the suggested fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Fabulous!!! Made this , this morning. The only thing I didn't do was add the cinnamon. But this is definetly the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States