Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I use half a cup of mixed dried peel bits with half a cup of raisins to brighten them up a bit inside. I also found I could substitute half a cup of white flour for half a cup of fine whole wheat flour and it added nutrition without changing the texture or taste. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
In a word these are FABULOUS. Buns were light, tasty what can I say? I used my bread maker to make the dough so it was super easy. This will be an Easter tradition for us from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Dexter, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I never made these before, but I love them so much so I thought I'd try. They were delicious! I do think that I'll add a little more sugar, since I like them a tiny bit sweeter. I made them the day before and after making them into balls I refrigerated them until morning and then baked them. It worked out just fine. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
These were super easy to make and turned out fantastic! I had not had hot cross buns since I was a teenager and my mom would bring them home from the bakery she worked at. For some reason I kept thinking about them so looked for a recipe and chose this one. Boy - am I ever glad I did! They taste best slightly warmed up - I put them in the microwave at 40% power for about 35 seconds. The icing does not melt but the bun gets warm and soft. Yummy!! I can't wait for my mom to get here to try one of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I made it as directed the first time, and love the crumb. We don't really like raisins so I plan to adjust this recipe to suit our tastes and make it without raisins next time, maybe put in some extra sugar to compensate for the sweetness lost by eliminating raisins. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
These are delicious. I add 1 tsp orange zest, 3/4 tsp ground ginger, and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. It adds just a little bit more to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knitting Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
first time making, used hand method, turned out nice. Used Orange extract instead of vanilla, clear and bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
A wonderful recipe to make from scratch. I used the delay setting on my bread maker and it came out just fine. Totally worth it & the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INAE7997

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Simply wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
These we the BEST hot cross buns I have ever made, they were great! I really think you will enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States