Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I added about a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and I substituted semisweet chocolate chips for the raisins. They were great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Came out perfect; everyone loved them. I used duck eggs, no currents, and forgot the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
These were great! I did use 1/4 cup sugar instead of 2 tbsps and also added some orange zest. To make them shiny I used an egg wash. Next time I will add candied peel. They reminded me of Hot Cross buns I used to have as a child in England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very good! I also made a cross on top with icing sugar, vanilla, flour and water. It looked so good and professional my husband is starting to think I know what I'm doing. I think I would use more raisins and dried candied fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
FANTASTIC! I used golden raisins b/c that's what I had on hand. I also added the zest of 1 orange to the dough...YUM!!!!! These were too easy and soooo delicious. A definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Followed directions other than adding a few spices...These are EXACTLY what I was hoping they would be. They turned out so big and light. As good as any bakery :) Delighted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I didn't use a bread machine. I used milk instead of the water and milk powder, heating that to 110° and added some of the sugar to proof the yeast. Also, I used 1/2 cup of raisins and 1/4 chopped citron which is reminiscent of the buns I had as a child. I completed the dough in my KA mixer. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
make on fat tues for ash wed fasting. good as a small breakfast and lunch w/ a piece of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Not like the ones I have bought in the store.....these are better!!!! This is the first time I made my own and this recipe is wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Wow! They were delicious! Fluffy, and sweet! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philomena Leavitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States