Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Loved these ! Will definitely make them again, and not just for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Recipe printed out 1 cup of water instead 3/4 cup. Was fluid instead of a nice puffy dough. Had to add flour and knead until I got the correct consistency. I believe this made dough tougher. The taste was good but wanted a lighter bun. Not sure if the print was incorrect or the fault was my own. Had to add 1 cup extra of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
The buns taste great! I made them for my dad and I'm sure he'll be asking for them again. My only issue was that the bottoms were a little too dark and crunchy. I don't mind that, but my mother would have had plenty to say about it. Other than that, they were wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
It sure would be helpful to know how many minutes of kneading come before the "5 minutes left" point! They turned pretty well, but not overwhelmingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe to take to an Easter party and I'm sorry I did. The recipe was easy to make. I made one recipe with raisins and one without because it was a children's party and I figured some would rather have no raisins. The raisin rolls were dry and didn't rise as well but I attribute that to a bit too much flour. The others came out very pretty. The taste was just not what I was hoping for. They are nearly tasteless. I even doubled the cinnamon and added some nutmeg per other reviews. I couldn't believe it. I even went to the store to buy cream cheese to make a more flavorful frosting and put thick crosses on them to try to make them more appealing. They are edible but I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made a mistake with my first batch (totally forgot to add the yeast--Yikes!), but after cleaning up after that, I started over again, checking off the ingredients, and they turned out really nice. We took them to today's church potluck, and I didn't bring any home, and the kids asked me to make more. I did add a few things to the recipe. I added a half teaspoon of the "Fiori di Sicilia" flavoring (from King Arthur Flour), a "dash" of cloves and a "dash" of nutmeg to the cinnamon to zing it up a bit. The "Fiori di Sicilia" gave a hint of citrus and vanilla to the dough, that made it taste very much like the ones my Mom used to get at the neighborhood bakery when I was young. I didn't have currants handy, so I used golden raisins and dried cranberries for the fruit. I'm in the middle of making a new batch and I decided to try what another reviewer had suggested: adding a Tablespoon of Vital Wheat Gluten to the flour. I'm going to try to make the crosses from the piped sweet dough next time. This recipe is definitely a winner from my perspective.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lingmajor
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Followed the recipe to the dot. too heavy not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Bend, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
First let me say I did not use a bread machine, therefore, i had to do the order of things differently. I did not change anything. Good recipe makes a dozen, taste was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I made two batches of these. The second was definitely better than the first as I forgot to add the spices and currants in at the end of the second knead so had to knead a third time myself to incorporate the ingredients. I made the second batch correctly and the buns were definitely lighter and more flavorful. I would try this recipe again but I did feel they were a bit dense in texture overall. The family and my English boyfriend loved them though, so they must have been pretty good :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States