Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Lower on flavor than I had hoped for, and somewhat dry. Also, they were already overcooked in 18 minutes and stuck very badly to the bottom of the pan despite it being well greased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These are very good. I have been baking my own buns for probably over 30 years and have had many good recipies, but this one has become my newest best recipe for both as is for Easter and without the currants and cinnamon and icing for plain buns for other occasions. I use a heavy duty food processor for mixing the dough and I let it rise in my oven with just the oven light on to keep it warm. I prefer smaller buns, so I make 18 out of one recipe, but I always make two batches while I'm at it and freeze most of it for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Great Recipe, but I am not a fan of the peel. I find it gives a strange taste..so I just left it out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashathechef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
i make the dough ahead and wrap and refridgerate them at the forming into bun part, i pull them out in the morning for it's second rise, and bake them fresh :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vanessa
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These were really good! I made them for Good Friday, and my family really enjoyed them! I made the dough the night before, and put the dough in the fridge. Then in the morning, I took them out and put them in the oven. They came out smelling so good, and yummy that as soon as I put the icing on, everyone devoured them! Yum, Yum! Will definitely make them again! Look at my picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
It is a pretty simple recipe, but I did something wrong, because mine rose the first time, but didn't rise the second time. If you want to raise this dough in the oven, what temperature and how long do you do it for? Mine kindof came out OK, but they tasted kindof bland and were a bit hard, which I'm sure is entirely my own fault. Can anyone help me here???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonnet116

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
very delicious and perfect for an Easter celebration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ewilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hanover, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I've never eaten Hot Cross Buns before so I have nothing to compare these with but I thought they were very good! I would definately make these again. I did use raisins instead of currants (didn't have any). Like the fact that they were very easy to make with the help of my bread machine. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I have to rate this a 5 because I've never made buns before and even though I screwed up a little they still managed to turn out! First of all, I used just water as my milk powder was rancid, and I had already started adding ingredients to my bread machine. Then, I forgot to add the raisins while it was kneading, so I tried adding them in at the end but that didn't work so well, most of them just fell off! When they were done baking, they were really nice and golden. The trick of putting the icing for the crosses into a sandwich bag worked like a charm. I discovered at the end that I forgot the cinnamon as well! They still tasted good. I didn't find them to be heavy at all, however, my buns turned out pretty big, next time I will make 15 buns instead of 12. I was worried with my mistakes that it would be a flop but it was fine. I think next time I will use just water again without adding the milk powder - I have used other bread recipes on here that didn't require milk/milk powder and they had the best results in my machine. Thanks for the recipe! Update: I made these a second time. I put the raisins in at the beep (instead of the last 5 minutes) and it totally pulvarized my raisins and made the bread look brown. Definitely follow what the recipe says! I also made 15 instead of 12 and although they looked nicer, this batch was definitely more dry. I will keep just using water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
the BEST! Made these w/o bread machine: scalded and cooled 1/2c milk, yeast with 1/4c warm water, currants rinsed, added 1/2 tsp allspice, half all purpose flour and half hard white (organic). Delicious recipe for today, Good Friday, or any occasion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lj_

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States