Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
awesome...did them on convection and they looked like they came from a bakery....used the piped on sweet dough rather than the icing....1/2 cup icing sugar, 1/2 cup flour, vanilla and some milk to thin.....mix it in a sandwich bag and pipe on just before rolls to into oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Making these buns was the first time I've ever used my breadmaker on the 'dough' cycle. I'd never worked with dough before so I was a bit nervous. I'm happy to say these hot cross buns turned out great! I added the icing sugar criss/cross to the top but, to be honest, I preferred the taste without. A nice easy recipe for a rookie baker to try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
These rose beautifully.After the second rising I popped them in the fridge and baked them the next morning. I brushed with apricot jam while hot to make them nice and sticky.Only complaint was they smelt a bit yeasty .... maybe more vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Made these for Easter dinner and they were a hit! I love hot cross buns and was looking for a recipe that I could make fresh in the time I had in the morning, and these fit the bill. I don't usually use my bread machine, and have never used the dough setting, but the only problem was the timer was for 1.5 hours, and the kneading cycle ended maybe 15-30 minutes in, so I had to do little kneading by hand for the raisins and cinnimon better incorporated, though they still turned out very light. I will deinitely make this again and recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Not impressed with this recipe. Came out dry and lacking in flavor. The only thing that kept them edible was lots of icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
yummy! great recipe. Like others, I made sweet dough crosses, with left over flour, yolk and water mixture, along with a tinsy bit of cinnamon (I love cinnamon - also used it in the glaze), icing sugar and vanilla essence, which I piped on with sandwich bag before baking, ending up a wee bit crispy. Had oven at about 30 degrees for the rising, as I have no bread machine. Used low fat milk and a little bit of water instead of the milk powder and water, and turned out fine. I will be using this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicity
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
My family LOVED these buns. I made them for Good Friday. I used whole wheat flour and skipped the powdered milk because I didn't have any. They were really sweet and delicious, although more like cinnamin buns almost. I had to add more sugar to the icing because it was too thin, I don't know if it made a difference that it was organic. Overall, I highly recommend these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicity

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a first time for me. The buns turned out great. I made them the evening before Good Friday so they were ready in the morning for my family. Everyone loved them. My son, who came home late at night on Thursday said the house smelled wonderful and wanted to eat them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Wow, I have never eaten them before with raisins so I used candied fruit and they were perfect and awesome!! Love this recipe will always use this recipe!! Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
excellant. Only change I made was using raisins instead of currants. Sold fast at the bake sale. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States