Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
These were easy to make and nice enough to eat but didn't have the spicy hot cross bun flavour I was hoping for. Very much a personal taste but if I made these again I would probably triple the spice and the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Just took these out of the oven for Good Friday and Easter. I am so pleased with the results - I made it just as described only added 1 tsp grated fresh lemon - other than that- PERFECT! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I had never had Hot Cross Buns before. I think these may be come a regular fixture on our counter. They were wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingForMyBoys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gackle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Absolutely a keeper! I'm an Asian and believe it or not I never even knew what a hot cross bun looks like before I saw the pic on this site! My hubby mentioned that his mother used to make killer hot cross bun and too bad he cannot find anything that good at store anymore! So, after reading all the raving reviews, I decided to give it a try! I substitued white flour with unbleached bread flour, used about 1 and 1/3 bags (2oz per bag)of active yeast, also added extra 1 tsp of vanilla extract, 1tsp cinimmon,1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1tsp fresh orange zest and 1/2 cup of raisins to the dough base. For the icing, I used 1 cup of confectionary sugar, 2 tsp non- fat milk , 2 tsp orange juice and 1/2 tsp lemon zest. The sweetness with a twist of citric taste, yum! I put the icing into the cross before the buns got completely cool, so that the icing will be melted into the center of the bun! It may not look that good, but really tastes better! My hubby cannot stop complimenting how great the buns taste! Thank you so much for posting the recipe! Big thanks to all who spent time sharing their experiences and tips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
These are easy, light and really yummy :) I put extra cinnamon and added a little clove, ginger and nutmeg (because we like our hot cross buns tasting of spice) and used sultanas instead of currants (none of my boys like currants lol). Will definitely be making a ton of these for Easter ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanielMac

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My family loved this recipe. Its the first raised roll I was successfully able to make. I've started making them every Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
awesome...did them on convection and they looked like they came from a bakery....used the piped on sweet dough rather than the icing....1/2 cup icing sugar, 1/2 cup flour, vanilla and some milk to thin.....mix it in a sandwich bag and pipe on just before rolls to into oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
Making these buns was the first time I've ever used my breadmaker on the 'dough' cycle. I'd never worked with dough before so I was a bit nervous. I'm happy to say these hot cross buns turned out great! I added the icing sugar criss/cross to the top but, to be honest, I preferred the taste without. A nice easy recipe for a rookie baker to try :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
These rose beautifully.After the second rising I popped them in the fridge and baked them the next morning. I brushed with apricot jam while hot to make them nice and sticky.Only complaint was they smelt a bit yeasty .... maybe more vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Made these for Easter dinner and they were a hit! I love hot cross buns and was looking for a recipe that I could make fresh in the time I had in the morning, and these fit the bill. I don't usually use my bread machine, and have never used the dough setting, but the only problem was the timer was for 1.5 hours, and the kneading cycle ended maybe 15-30 minutes in, so I had to do little kneading by hand for the raisins and cinnimon better incorporated, though they still turned out very light. I will deinitely make this again and recommend them to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States