Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This is a fabulous recipe! I've tried other recipes for hot cross buns in the breadmaker and they came out like rocks. These are light and fluffy and golden brown. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
These were exactly what we wanted for Easter breakfast - delicious!! I used real milk instead of powder (didn't have powder) and skipped the currants, but did everything else the same and this bread was light, fluffy, and just sweet enough. I made them without a bread machine by proofing the yeast in the water and sugar first, then adding the rest of the ingredients and kneading. I'll definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Griffin10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Wonderful. Made 2 batches yesterday. Added 3T cinnamon, some ground cloves, nutmeg & allspice & 2T lemon zest and used 2% milk instead of water & powder milk. Made crosses out of flour,water& icing sugar paste .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I made these buns for Easter potluck, using splenda and makiny mini-rolls. Thy were delicious. Did not notice Splenda and powedered milk. Made it low fat, sugar free. I recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
They were a little dry and I missed the orange flavoring of more traditional hot cross buns. Unlikely to make again. Make sure they have fully cooled before putting on the frosting to prevent it from running all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
why use all purpose flour and not bread flour in this recipe? i tried baking with bread flour, but my buns are a bit flat and the color is quite dull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Excellent recipe my family loved it, so easy using the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made these for Easter and everyone loved them, I added egg substitute instead of eggs and raisins and chopped glazed cherries instead of currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
loved this recipe! super easy and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I left out the currents and raisins, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justine Saville

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States