Hot Cross Buns I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Very good! I also made a cross on top with icing sugar, vanilla, flour and water. It looked so good and professional my husband is starting to think I know what I'm doing. I think I would use more raisins and dried candied fruit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
FANTASTIC! I used golden raisins b/c that's what I had on hand. I also added the zest of 1 orange to the dough...YUM!!!!! These were too easy and soooo delicious. A definite keeper! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Followed directions other than adding a few spices...These are EXACTLY what I was hoping they would be. They turned out so big and light. As good as any bakery :) Delighted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I didn't use a bread machine. I used milk instead of the water and milk powder, heating that to 110° and added some of the sugar to proof the yeast. Also, I used 1/2 cup of raisins and 1/4 chopped citron which is reminiscent of the buns I had as a child. I completed the dough in my KA mixer. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
make on fat tues for ash wed fasting. good as a small breakfast and lunch w/ a piece of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Not like the ones I have bought in the store.....these are better!!!! This is the first time I made my own and this recipe is wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Wow! They were delicious! Fluffy, and sweet! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philomena Leavitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Tully, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Great recipe! I added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp of cloves and they were absolutely delicious. I used my Cuisinart mixer with dough hook, because I don't have (or need!) a bread machine. I sprinkled the yeast on top of the water pus a tbsp of the sugar. I let it sit until foamy. Then I added all of the rest of the ingredients and mixed for 3 minutes at speed 3. Then, I scraped the bowl and kept mixing for 2 more minutes at speed 2. They came out fluffy and delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Tastes just like raisin bread, only with sort of the texture of an english muffin. I added about 1/4 tsp of cloves. Pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These were delicious and very easy to make. I used 3/4 cup of warm milk instead of the water and powdered milk. I didn't have currants or raisins so I just left those out. I used one envelope of active dry yeast which was slightly under 1 T. Still worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 21-30 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States