Hot Cranberry Tea Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've been looking for this recipe for years and am so excited to finally find it. I had it at a school Christmas function when my daughter was young and failed to get the recipe from the woman who brought it. I didn't have any whole cloves on hand so I put a couple of dashes of ground cloves in it. It was absolutely wonderful, though my husband asked for me to add another 1/2 cup of sugar to it which I didn't think it needed. Thanks for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
An instant Christmas tradition. It even impressed the mother-in-law. I always make sure I use whole spices, actual lemons, and the whole shebang. The presentation and aroma of a punch bowl of Cranberry Tea is irresistible. (As a side note, I've also had success brewing it in the slow cooker.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Very easy to make. When it starts getting cold outside, this is the first thing my husband asks for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ynzwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was a wonderful way to use cranberries without making another sauce. Being on a low carb diet I substituted Splenda for the sugar and two packets of Orange flavored Crystal Light for the orange juice. I didn't have whole cloves so I used ground cloves to taste. My husband adored this and we'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natasha Buel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newhall, California, USA
Living In: Black River Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great recipe, I was a bit skeptical, but the flavors of this blend together perfectly. I used brown sugar instead of white and cut it down to 1 1/4 cups, along with a good squirt of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maeraj
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Mmmmm. I put the berries and water in my crockpot on low the night before - then added the rest the last hour and cut the sugar in half. Next time I might try adding some white tea leaves as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Criscelda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Fixed this Christmas day and it was a hit! My niece said she didin't like cranberries, but loved this. My sister now makes it for her friends. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fordoche, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Loved it. I only used 1.5 cups of sugar, but that was my only change to this wonderful recipe. 2 cups would probably be way too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Used stevia instead, leaving it undersweetened so family members could finish off by adding a touch of sucanat, white sugar, honey, or more stevia (each producing a different result). Left out the oranges and lemons for the trial run (informal family evening). Simply made this in the slowcooker instead of cooking it and moving it to the slow cooker. IT WAS WONDERFUL anyway. It will certainly be a richer experience with the oranges and lemons, but will probably make again with just the cranberries at times. This was a lovely change from other crockpot drinks we make in our crockpot in the winter (ginger punch, chai tea, cocoa, mulled cider, and a lemon-almond sweetened tea made using instant tea). I loved watching the cranberries gradually fall to the bottom of the slow cooker during cooking. With them being at the bottom, they were well out of the way until people who wanted that last sip had to work for it - helping them savour the moment a little longer.... fun to watch the young ones willing to work so hard for one more drop! I guess we'll miss that if we cook this on the stove top first as indicated in the recipe.... hmmmm, but will have to try that sometime.... This actually went faster than any of the other drinks I've made in the past. It might even become a holiday staple. Might try adding almond extract or some instant tea one of these times.... maybe.... it's pretty wonderful as is, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Yummy! I cut back on the sugar to 3/4 cup because I prefer a little more of the cranberry flavor to the super sweet. OTherwise it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States