Hot Crab and Jalapeno Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I doubled the Jalapenos and doubled the crab meat. It was to die for. For those of you that said it was oily, you cooked it too long. Mayo will seperate back to oil and egg if it gets to hot. this can be served warm or even room temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this last night for a party. It is pretty good. Not outstanding, but good. I think next time I would use the whole jalapeño. I think it could use a little more cheese too- maybe a cup worth. All in all a success just may need to tweak it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious! Cheated a bit and used store bought artichoke/parm dip, then added the remaining ingredients as listed. Much better than any hot crab dip I've tasted before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Yum! I followed most of the recipe. I used roasted red pepper from the jar-not marinated with oil. Chopped it up and mixed all the ingredients in, except that I substituted celery salt for Old Bay and used 2 tbs. jalapeno - I like it hot. Not too oily, but has anyone thought of using panko bread crumbs on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this for a party and it was a big hit. I like spicier food so I added more jalapenos and a little Cayenne pepper. The sliced almonds on top were a welcome twist from the crab dips I am used to having. The host of the party asked for the recipe and mentioned something she was going to try that I want to try now myself. She is going to use shredded shrimp instead of crab or with the crab meat to give it a twist! Sounded good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I only gave four stars since I changed it up but it was delicious! I wanted more of a fondue type dip though instead of so thick so I added fontina cheese and just a bit of cream cheese and milk to help make smooth. I served in the fondue pot with chunks of toasty French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I have made this a few times always to rave reviews. I'm not crazy about mayo in hot dips so I substitute 8 ounces of softened cream cheese (regular or reduced fat). It makes it more substantial. I also use 1-2 fresh chopped jalapenos as we like very spicy foods. Great dip though and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Absolutely needs the jalapenos doubled. I used 1/4 cup walnuts and mixed them right in instead of sprinkling on top. I also used the roasted red pepper instead of oil and a fresh one as another reviewer suggested. Good suggestion! I baked this in 3 Corning Wear big ramekins and it was wonderful. They were not oily on top at all as some others had problems with. Could it be that the oil went around all the dishes instead of just one? This is a good sized recipe because I kept one dish for my husband and myself and took the others to a cocktail party with some plain crackers, so the crackers would not fight the flavors of the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe was good, but I altered it a bit. Instead of parmesean & fresh pepper, I used shredded monteray jack & cheddar and roasted red peppers. I also omitted the almonds. It is a bit oily when it comes out of the oven, but you just need to dab up the puddles of oil with a napkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2005
I don't know if I made it incorrectly but it was very oily and did not taste good. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States