Hot Crab and Jalapeno Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Delicious! Cheated a bit and used store bought artichoke/parm dip, then added the remaining ingredients as listed. Much better than any hot crab dip I've tasted before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
We thought this was fantastic. I made it as an appetizer, and we nearly skipped the main course. I even used fake crab-meat. I also went a little heavy on the hot peppers which tunred out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I made this for a party and it was a big hit. I like spicier food so I added more jalapenos and a little Cayenne pepper. The sliced almonds on top were a welcome twist from the crab dips I am used to having. The host of the party asked for the recipe and mentioned something she was going to try that I want to try now myself. She is going to use shredded shrimp instead of crab or with the crab meat to give it a twist! Sounded good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Yum! I followed most of the recipe. I used roasted red pepper from the jar-not marinated with oil. Chopped it up and mixed all the ingredients in, except that I substituted celery salt for Old Bay and used 2 tbs. jalapeno - I like it hot. Not too oily, but has anyone thought of using panko bread crumbs on top?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Wonderful recipe! I doubled the amount of jalapenos to give it an extra "kick" and it was HUGE hit at my latest party. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I have made this a few times always to rave reviews. I'm not crazy about mayo in hot dips so I substitute 8 ounces of softened cream cheese (regular or reduced fat). It makes it more substantial. I also use 1-2 fresh chopped jalapenos as we like very spicy foods. Great dip though and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
I doubled the Jalapenos and doubled the crab meat. It was to die for. For those of you that said it was oily, you cooked it too long. Mayo will seperate back to oil and egg if it gets to hot. this can be served warm or even room temp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made this last night for a party. It is pretty good. Not outstanding, but good. I think next time I would use the whole jalapeño. I think it could use a little more cheese too- maybe a cup worth. All in all a success just may need to tweak it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This recipe was good, but I altered it a bit. Instead of parmesean & fresh pepper, I used shredded monteray jack & cheddar and roasted red peppers. I also omitted the almonds. It is a bit oily when it comes out of the oven, but you just need to dab up the puddles of oil with a napkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 23DAISYS
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
I only gave four stars since I changed it up but it was delicious! I wanted more of a fondue type dip though instead of so thick so I added fontina cheese and just a bit of cream cheese and milk to help make smooth. I served in the fondue pot with chunks of toasty French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States