Hot Crab Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Very easy to make. Lacking flavour, will add something for zip next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Selkirk, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Made for a girls night... the ladies loved it. I did add a bit more hot sauce, parmesan cheese and garlic seasoning to it for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I made this recipe the first time and it was very bland, so I made it again and just like the other reviews I added my own twist on this recipe. I added to taste sour cream instead of mayo...not as heavy. I also added to taste; more lemon juice, more hot pepper sauce, more minced onion, a bit of horseradish, parmesan cheese and garlic powder. This recipe is a good start for a dip, but for it to be a know-out recipe adding the flavors you like will make it a recipe you will make over and over again. Also, you can add drained canned chicken or turkey, mashed, as an alternative to crab. And lastly our family preferred it cold rather than hot. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Very good dip. I opted to use shrimp instead and it tasted great as well. Only thing I did differently was only use one can of artichokes since other reviewers mentioned an overwhelming artichoke taste. When cooking, it looked extremely runny, but thickened up once it sat in the bread bowl. Very nice presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I actually liked this recipe, but next time I make it I will alter a bit. Less mayo and more cream cheese, since I found it to be a bit to mayonnaise-y! I also didn't add onion, since my boyfriend doesn't like, and I also skipped the lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
No Old Bay? I added old bay. Much more Maryland style if thats what youre looking for. Also added dry mustard. Did not like the minced onion. You have to have OldBay or J.O.s crab seasoning in crab dip. I think it is wrong to make it without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa W

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I really wanted to love this but just...didn't. I made it for a get together and it was barely touched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya Belt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newcomerstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J Cotta
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
very good recipe! I left out the lemon juice and added flaked parsley for decoration. The dip worked great with a bread bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Cotta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Brought it to our church group home meeting and it was delicious!!! I didn't have any hot sauce or cayenne so I used a sprinkle of creole seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMPEREDKERI2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Amazing i followed the recipe with one sub !! instead of crab i used 3 fillets of salmon ...so creamy and a huge hit at my dinner party !!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Kelly's

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Crab Dip

See how to make a hot and creamy crab dip served in a bread bowl.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States